2.  | 
  3. Monitor
  4.  | AOGA Annual Awards

AOGA Annual Awards

May 9, 2019 | Monitor, Oil & Gas

Images courtesy of AOGA, BP Alaska

ANCHORAGE—The Alaska Oil and Gas Association (AOGA) will honor individuals and companies/organizations for their achievements working in the oil and gas industry at its annual conference on May 30, 2019, at the Dena’ina Civic & Convention Center in Anchorage.

The four AOGA Industry Awards winners are:

    Sponsored by the Alaska Support Industry Alliance 

Peak Oilfield Service

The Contractor of the Year Award for Safety Performance was created to recognize an oil and gas support company that has demonstrated an extraordinary commitment to safety. Peak Oilfield Service truly epitomizes the highest standard of safety, evidenced by their “Safety Step Back Program,” designed to create a holistic safety culture with proactive engagement in safety on a daily basis. The implementation of this program has created a culture of safety-oriented, empowered employees and opened lines of communication for all. Peak Oilfield Service employees worked more than 156,000 hours in 2018 supporting the Marathon Petroleum, Kenai Refinery and its adjacent assets, with zero lost time incidents and zero recordable incidents. 


    Sponsored by Stoel Rives 

BP Alaska’s Prudhoe Bay Unit (PBU) Wells Wireless Monitoring Project

The Project of the Year for Environmental Stewardship and Innovation honors an Alaska oil and gas industry project that demonstrates superior environmental stewardship in its area of design, construction, or operation, and/or an innovative approach that sets a new standard for industry design, construction, or operation in Alaska. A six-year endeavor, BP Alaska’s PBU Wells Wireless Monitoring Project has modernized and transformed the way in which wells are monitored year-round, in all weather, reducing response time required to address potential well anomalies. With safety for people and the environment of primary importance, the project’s fieldwide installation of “wireless” gauge technologies (~6000 end devices) allows for remote pressure monitoring and fast response, directly decreasing risk to people and the environment in America’s largest oilfield, and our home state of Alaska. 


    Sponsored by Leonardo DRS 

Clay Beethe, BP Alaska

The Rising Star Award honors a young professional oil and gas industry employee, under the age of 35, who has made an immediate and definitive impact on the oil and gas industry in Alaska. Originally from Colorado, Clay Beethe received his Bachelor’s in Business from UAA and M.B.A. from APU. Clay began his career working at BP as a Financial Analyst, supporting Prudhoe Bay activity. After a few years, he joined the team supporting Alaska LNG negotiations and commercial analysis. In 2017-2018, Clay was asked to spend six months in Oman, supporting the gas negotiations there and developed a reputation as a keen commercial mind, and an advocate for Alaska tourism. Currently, Clay is the Executive Assistant to BP Alaska President, Janet Weiss. Clay is active in organizations like Challenge Alaska for Paralympic skiing where he serves on the board and volunteers his time on weekends. 


    Sponsored by Chevron 

Thomas K. Williams, formally with BP Alaska

The Marilyn Crockett Lifetime Achievement Award is named in honor of the former AOGA Executive Director who dedicated her entire 41-year career to, as she stated, “growing Alaska’s economy through a vibrant oil and gas sector in the state.” This award honors the dedication Marilyn displayed during her career: exceptional devotion of time, effort, thought, and action consistently shown in his/her work for the betterment of the oil and gas industry in Alaska. Thomas K. Williams’ career in the oil and gas industry began in the 1970s and spanned five decades. He began his career as an attorney for the State of Alaska, rising to Commissioner of Revenue in 1979. Thomas joined BP in 1987. He worked in a variety of departments before being named the company’s senior royalty and tax counsel, a position he held for 24 years. Thomas also served as Chair of the Alaska Oil and Gas Association Tax Committee for 29 years. Words fail to adequately express how great an impact Thomas K. Williams has made on Alaska’s oil and gas industry.

Current Issue

Alaska Business October 2023 Cover

October 2023

Alaska Business magazine October 2023 cover
In This Issue
The 2023 Top 49ers
October 2023
It's October, and that means it's time to reveal the 2023 Top 49ers, which are Alaska's largest companies (founded and headquartered in-state), ranked by gross revenue. Learn who made the list and where they landed. Complementing the Top 49ers, in this issue we also focus on business ownership, from starting a business to funding it, running it, and ultimately passing it on. Enjoy!
Share This