HOME | Industry | Energy | New Electric Railbelt Grid Council Names Final Two Representatives

New Electric Railbelt Grid Council Names Final Two Representatives

Jul 21, 2020 | Energy, News

The Implementation Committee (IC) of the Railbelt Reliability Council (RRC) named Chris Rose and Jerry Rust as the final two participants to the RRC’s unaffiliated seats. Now that the IC is fully seated, it will develop bylaws and other foundational documents to define and stand up the RRC. It is the goal of the RRC to then apply to become the Electric Reliability Organization (ERO) for the Railbelt electric system as defined in recent legislation, Senate Bill 123.
The RRC provides a forum and structure for six interconnected Railbelt utilities, along with six non-utility stakeholders, to work together to address Railbelt-wide electric system issues to ensure grid resilience and reduce long term costs.
“The Railbelt Reliability Council is a historic agreement and offers a chance for meaningful participation from a wide variety of stakeholders to address much-needed planning issues along the grid,” said Veri di Suvero, the consumer advocacy member of the IC’s Selection Committee. “The RRC will be a critical body for a region-wide approach to ensuring the best energy decisions for consumers.”

Current Issue

Alaska Business Magazine September 2020 Cover

September 2020

The RRC will define and enforce electric reliability standards, coordinate joint planning through an integrated resource planning process, and ensure consistent interconnection protocols for utilities, independent power producers and other grid users. The RRC will also work with the Regulatory Commission of Alaska to develop a cost sharing methodology for assets that have a regional benefit and will also identify and facilitate implementation of effective ways for the Railbelt electric system to reduce electricity costs for ratepayers.

Chris Rose is the Executive Director of Renewable Energy Alaska Project (REAP), a statewide non-profit focused on clean energy solutions. REAP, and Mr. Rose, supported the bi-partisan legislation, Senate Bill 123, that passed in the most recent legislature to formally establish a regulatory process for Electric Reliability Organizations like the RRC intends to become. Jerry Rust is the former President and current Special Assistant to the Chairman at Northwest Power Pool. Mr. Rust has worked with Alaskan utilities and has helped with planning and operation for Electric Reliability Organizations in the Lower 48.

A full list of Implementation Committee participants and their alternates is provided below.

Railbelt Reliability Council – Implementation Committee
July 15, 2020


  Seat Organization Primary Alternate Comments
1 Utility Chugach Electric Association Brian Hickey Russell Thorton  
2 Utility Golden Valley Electric Association John Burns Bill Kirkenir  
3 Utility Homer Electric Association Rick Baldwin Dan Chay  
4 Utility Matanuska Electric Association Julie Estey Ed Jenkin  
5 Utility Anchorage Municipal Light and Power Jeff Warner Anna Henderson  
6 Utility City of Seward Open Pat Gillis  
7 AEA Alaska Energy Authority Kirk Warren Curtis Thayer  
8 RAPA State Agency for Regulatory Affairs and Public Advocacy (RAPA) Jeff Waller Janet Fairchild-Hamilton Non-voting, ex officio
9 RCA Regulatory Commission of Alaska Commissioner Bob Pickett Commissioner Antony Scott Non-voting, ex officio
10 IPP CIRI (Fire Island Wind) Suzanne Settle Sam Dennis  
11 IPP Alaska Environmental Power (Delta Wind) Joel Groves Mike Craft  
12 Consumer  Advocacy Alaska Public Interest Research Group (AKPIRG) Veri Di Suvero Enei Begaye  
13 Nonaffiliated Renewable Energy Alaska Project (REAP) Chris Rose Greg Stiegel  
14 Nonaffiliated Northwest Power Pool Jerry Rust Frank Afranji  
Alaska Business Magazine September 2020 Cover

In This Issue

Spreading the Word

September 2020

When Bristol Bay Native Corporation (BBNC) first aired TV commercials featuring the tagline, “A Place That’s Always Been,” the reaction was surprising. Not only because they received numerous accolades and marketing awards for the campaign but because, at the time, it was rare for Alaska Native corporations to market themselves through the media.

Share This