2017 ‘Elements of Enterprise’ Top 49ers Winners Announced by Alaska Business

Sep 29, 2017 | Lists, Spotlight Events

Alaska Business

The 2017 theme for the Alaska Business Top 49ers is Elements of Enterprise, illustrated by their Elements of Business Periodic Table.

Featuring the Top 49 Alaskan-owned companies ranked by gross revenue

ANCHORAGE, September 29, 2017—Alaska Business presented the 2017 Top 49 Alaskan-owned and operated businesses ranked by gross revenue on Friday, September 29, 2017, at the Anchorage Marriott Downtown. For more than three decades Alaska Business has honored the Alaskan-grown companies that epitomize the Elements of Enterprise through providing goods and services valuing billions of dollars and creating tens of thousands of jobs, helping to keep Alaska’s economy running strong.

Presenting the 2017 Alaska Business Top 49ers:

  1. Arctic Slope Regional Corporation, Rex A. Rock Sr., President/CEO, $2,371,164,000
  2. Bristol Bay Native Corporation, Jason Metrokin, President/CEO, $1,525,181,000
  3. NANA Regional Corporation, Inc., Wayne Westlake, President/CEO, $1,300,000,000
  4. Chenega Corporation, Charles W. Totemoff, President/CEO, $927,000,000
  5. Lynden, Inc., Jim Jansen, Chairman, $925,000,000
  6. Chugach Alaska Corporation, Gabriel Kompkoff, CEO, $842,000,000
  7. Calista Corporation, Andrew Guy, President/CEO, $492,200,000
  8. Afognak Native Corporation, Greg Hambright, President/CEO, $474,271,000
  9. Ukpeaġvik Iñupiat Corporation (UIC) ,Anthony E. Edwardsen, President/CEO, $424,300,000
  10. Bering Straits Native Corporation, Gail R. Schubert, President/CEO, $326,000,000
  11. Doyon, Limited, Aaron Schutt, President/CEO, $305,412,000
  12. Cook Inlet Region, Inc., Sophie Minich, President/CEO, $289,048,000
  13. Koniag, Inc., Elizabeth Perry, PhD, President/CEO, $251,588,000
  14. Olgoonik Corporation, Hugh Patkotak Sr., President/CEO, $241,800,000
  15. Goldbelt, Incorporated, Elliott Wimberly, President/CEO, $236,747,520
  16. Ahtna, Inc., Michelle Anderson, President, $217,700,000
  17. Chugach Electric Association, Inc., Lee Thibert, CEO, $197,747,579
  18. Cruz Companies Alaska, Dave Cruz, President, $183,717,140
  19. Three Bears Alaska, Inc., David Weisz, President/CEO, $173,169,699
  20. Aleut Corporation, Matt Fagnani, CEO, $171,655,823
  21. First National Bank Alaska, Betsy Lawer, Chair/President, $150,499,000
  22. Sealaska, Anthony Mallott, Pres./CEO, $145,500,000
  23. Matanuska Electric Association, Inc., Tony Izzo, General Manager/CEO, $137,279,126
  24. Sitnasuak Native Corporation, Roberta Quintavell, President/CEO, $130,210,466
  25. Geneva Woods Pharmacy, Inc., Dan Afrasiabi, President/CEO, $128,649,000
  26. Tanadgusix Corp. (TDX), Ron Philemonoff, CEO, $122,200,000
  27. Delta Constructors LLC, Ed Gohr, CEO, $121,228,363
  28. MTA, Inc., Michael Burke, CEO, $100,000,000
  29. Construction Machinery Industrial, LLC, Ken Gerondale, President/CEO, $98,000,000
  30. Udelhoven Oilfield System Services, Jim Udelhoven, CEO, $97,181,224
  31. Colville, Inc., Dave Pfeifer, President/CEO , $96,299,358
  32. Homer Electric Association, Inc., Bradley Janorschke, General Manager, $95,000,000
  33. PenAir, Danny Seybert, CEO, $89,900,000
  34. The Kuskokwim Corporation, Maver Carey, President/CEO, $88,719,545
  35. Usibelli Coal Mine, Inc., Joseph E. Usibelli Jr., President/CEO, $80,000,000
  36. Anchorage Chrysler Dodge Center, Corey Meyers, President, $79,853,962
  37. Bethel Native Corporation, Anastasia Hoffman, President/CEO, $71,771,183
  38. Davis Constructors & Engineers, Inc., Josh Pepperd, President/CEO, $65,497,161
  39. Credit Union 1, Paul Yang, President/CEO, $64,618,093
  40. New Horizons Telecom, Inc., Leighton Lee, CEO, $64,530,905
  41. Cape Fox Corporation, Chris Luchtefeld, COO, $63,532,532
  42. Denali Federal Credit Union, Robert Teachworth, President/CEO, $57,973,581
  43. Vitus Energy LLC, Mark Smith, CEO, $55,000,000
  44. Airport Equipment Rentals, Jerry Sadler, Owner/President, $54,361,000
  45. Tatonduk Outfitters Ltd., Robert Everts, CEO/Owner, $54,135,000
  46. Roger Hickel Contracting, Inc., Mike Shaw, President, $53,447,999
  47. Seekins Ford Lincoln, Inc., Ralph Seekins, President, $52,554,917
  48. Watterson Construction Co., Bill Watterson, President, $52,000,000
  49. Alaska Village Electric Cooperative, Inc., Meera Kohler, President/CEO, $49,500,000
Current Issue

January 2020

January 2020

Alaska Business Magazine January 2020 cover

In This Issue

The Marx Bros. Café

January 2020

Jack Amon and Richard “Van” Hale opened the doors of the Marx Bros. Café on October 18, 1979; however, the two had already been partners in cuisine for some time, having created the Wednesday Night Gourmet Wine Tasting Society and Volleyball Team Which Now Meets on Sunday, a weekly evening of food and wine. It was actually the end of the weekly event that spurred the name of the restaurant: hours after its final service, Amon and Hale were hauling equipment and furnishings out of their old location and to their now-iconic building on Third Street, all while managing arguments about equipment ownership, a visit from the police, and quite a bit of wine. “If you’ve ever seen the movie ‘A Night at the Opera” starring the Marx Brothers, that’s what it was like,” Hale explains.

Share This