Edit ModuleShow Tags
Edit ModuleShow Tags

Ryan Wolcoff: Alaska 2018 Overall Grand Champion Truck Driver of the Year

Wolcoff to represent Alaska in National Competition in Ohio


Span Alaska Transportation

From left: Chris Avessuk, Ryan Wolcoff, and Jose Brea

ANCHORAGE—Span Alaska Transportation Driver Ryan Wolcoff was recently recognized as Alaska’s 2018 Grand Champion Alaska Truck Driver by the Alaska Trucking Association (ATA). Span drivers Jose Brea earned second place in three-axle and Chris Avessuk earned third place in straight truck competitions.

"We have the safest drivers in Alaska and are proud of their commitment to safety and providing the best service possible to all our customers” says Chuck Onstott, Span Vice President of Operations. “Our Span drivers are a cut above the rest, professional and detail oriented. In addition to a rigorous skills course, they are also judged on a comprehensive written knowledge test, and pre-trip inspection."

Shortly before the Alaska Truck Driving Championships, Alaska Grand Champion, Ryan Wolcoff and all Span drivers were recognized as the Safest Truck Fleet Operator in Alaska by the ATA.

“Virtually every product shipped to Alaska is delivered on a truck. And Span drivers deliver more than 400 million pounds of freight a year, navigating some of the most difficult and dangerous roads in North America,” says Tom Souply, President of Span Alaska. “The award honors our drivers’ high safety records and care for others on the road.”



Edit Module

Add your comment: