Edit ModuleShow Tags
Edit ModuleShow Tags

Rasmuson Foundation Announces 16 Individual Artist Award Recipients in Anchorage and Mat-Su


ANCHORAGE, AK—Rasmuson Foundation has named 35 artists in 11 Alaska communities as Individual Artist Award recipients for 2018. This celebrated group includes eight Anchorage residents and a writer from Wasilla who will receive Project Awards of $7,500. Seven Anchorage artists will receive $18,000 Fellowships.

The recipients were selected from a statewide pool of nearly 400 applicants. They reflect the extraordinary diversity of the greater Anchorage creative scene. The Anchorage awardees include dancers and choreographers, composers and musicians, visual artists and sound artists, filmmakers and a tattoo artist.

Fellowships are awarded to mid-career and mature artists, providing the recipients with resources to pursue new challenges and achieve mastery in their fields with a year of intensive work.

Anchorage Fellows intend to travel, collaborate with other artists and pursue training as they push themselves over the next year.

Classical guitarist Armin Abdihodzic will invest in a concert-level instrument that is customized to his technical and interpretational requirements. He will also travel for intensive study with contemporary composers for guitar.

Photographer Brian Adams will travel to Canada, Greenland and Russia to document the lives of Inuit people through portraiture and photo essays. This will be his first international project. “I am at a place as a mid-career artist where growth only comes with a great push,” he says, explaining that he expects his travel outside Alaska will inspire new projects and add depth to his work.

Composer Dolores Catherino will create and document a composition in what she calls a “polychromatic musical language,” a system that she developed for an expanded palette of sound. Her new work will integrate sophisticated technology with the flexibility and expressive strength of traditional acoustical instruments. Catherino also will upgrade her equipment, pursue training and attend an international conference.

Filmmaker and photographer Mary Roseanne Katzke, also the recipient of a 2004 Rasmuson Foundation Fellowship, will travel across the US to document and share the grassroots youth movement for social change through environmental portrait photography, videos, social media and live presentations.

Visual artist Susan Joy Share, a prior IAA Fellow in 2005, plans a year of exploration in book arts, including creation of a new body of work that explores the intersection of built and natural environments in Alaska, using custom paper, photographic pop-up structures, and dynamic book properties such as hinges and layers.

Experimental artist Allison Akootchook Warden, who also received awards in 2012 and 2015, will conduct research for a collaborative multimedia exhibit to explore cultural connections between Alaska Iñupiat and people from Iran, Iraq, Kuwait, Saudi Arabia and the United Arab Emirates.

Composer and musician Rick Zelinsky will compose new music for an album featuring jazz, electronic, and Alaska nature sounds for solo saxophones and rhythm. He also plans to travel to Europe and work with collaborators in Alaska and abroad.

Also of note are recipients of Individual Artist Project Awards that support individuals at all stages of their creative careers for specific, short-term works.

Area Project Award recipients all are first-time honorees: composer and musician Jacob Dee, dancer Ana Gutierrez-Scholl, sound artist Paul Andrew Lawrence, choreographer Katie O’Loughlin, theater sound designer Lucy Peckham, vocalistSydnee Waggoner, multimedia artist Amber R. Webb and tattoo artist Sarah Whalen-Lunn, all of Anchorage; and authorChristiane Joy Allison of Wasilla.

These recipients join the Foundation’s 2018 Distinguished Artist, Alvin Amason of Anchorage and Kodiak Island, who was announced earlier.


Edit Module

Add your comment: