Edit ModuleShow Tags
Edit ModuleShow Tags

ASHOF Brings Sports Heroes Together for 10-Year Community Celebration July 28


Ever wanted to meet Alaskan sports legends like Tommy Moe, Kikkan Randall, Scott Gomez, Janay DeLoach, Don Clary, Dallas Seavey, Allie Ostrander, Mark Schlereth, Reggie Joule and Vern Tejas?
Soon you'll have the chance, as the Alaska Sports Hall of Fame invites all to a free community celebration from 6-9 p.m. Thursday, July 28 at the Alaska Airlines Center.
"This will be a historic gathering," ASHOF executive director Harlow Robinson said. "We're excited about bringing together many of the names that have helped mold our sports heritage."
Many of the Hall of Fame's inductees from its first 10 years are expected to attend, as well as this year's Directors' Awards recipients. The festivities include a parade of athletes, presentation of commemorative awards, video profiles of inductees and a meet-and-greet line where getting photos and autographs will be possible.
"This event is all about giving Alaskans a chance for a memorable interaction and then to come home with a souvenir," Robinson said.
For updates and more details, visit www.alaskasportshall.org or the ASHOF Facebook page's "Upcoming Events."
On July 29, a VIP Banquet and Induction Ceremony will follow at the Ted Stevens International Airport. Tickets and information are available at the ASHOF website. Proceeds benefit Healthy Futures, the signature program of the Alaska Sports Hall of Fame.
Established in 2006, the Alaska Sports Hall of Fame is a nonprofit organization whose mission is to teach, honor and inspire.
For more information, contact executive director Harlow Robinson at harlow@alaskasportshall.org or 240-3684.

Edit Module

Add your comment: