Edit ModuleShow Tags
Edit ModuleShow Tags

2017 Institute on Political Journalism Award Now Accepting Entries

$2,500 cash prize plus a bronze eagle trophy for winners


Entires are now being accepted in two categories for the 2017 Institute on Political Journalism Awards to be presented this summer in the nation's capital.


The Economic Journalism Award is presented to reporters from a magazine, newspaper, News Service,  Newsletter, Blog,  or Online news site whose series or columns provide the best understanding of business and economic principles and their impact on policies and markets. Original fact-finding and reporting earns special merit.


The Clark Mollenhoff Award for Investigative Reporting is named for the late Pulitzer-Prize winning reporter who conducted groundbreaking investigations into the influence of organized crime in American society. His work led to successful crackdowns on labor racketeering and Teamster Union corruption.


The presentation of the awards, including a cash prize of  $2,500.00 along with a bronze eagle trophy, will take place at a luncheon at the National Press Club in Washington, D.C in the summer of 2017


Please see below for entry guidelines. The deadline for the 2017 award is March 24, 2017.


Guidelines for Award Entries

1.      Provide a brief letter outlining the nature of the reporting, obstacles overcome, and results obtained, along with your contact information.

2.      There is no entry form; there is no entry fee. Stories must have been published between Jan. 1, 2016 and March 24, 2017.

3.      More than one series for a reporter, team or newspaper is permitted, but each should be submitted as a separate entry.

4.      Entry deadline for the materials to be postmarked is March 24, 2017.

5.      Entries must be from a U.S. publication. International entries are NOT permitted.

6.      Any format is acceptable-readability is what matters.

7.      Links to articles may be submitted. Please include contact information of the reporter (s) and pertinent editors. Email links to: jstarrs@TFAS.org

8.      If you mail your entries, you must submit four copies of your entry.


Submit application materials to:

Mr. Joseph Starrs
The Institute on Political Journalism
1621 New Hampshire Avenue, NW, Washington, D.C. 20009


Edit Module

Add your comment: