Edit ModuleShow Tags
Edit ModuleShow Tags

Walker-Mallott Administration Boards and Commissions Appointees Confirmed


May 16, 2017 JUNEAU – The Alaska State Legislature today confirmed 97 of Governor Bill Walker’s 98 boards and commission appointees. Lawmakers convened for a joint session of the House and Senate today to vote on the Governor’s appointments. Attorney General Jahna Lindemuth, Department of Public Safety Commissioner Walt Monegan, and Department of Natural Resources Commissioner Andy Mack were also confirmed by the joint body.


“Alaskans who volunteer to serve on a state board or commission help serve their fellow Alaskans,” said Governor Walker. “These individuals do so with little fanfare or recognition. I thank each Alaskan who stepped up to serve on a state board or commission.”


Alaska currently has more than 130 active boards and commissions, most of which are comprised of volunteer members who share their expertise and knowledge to better state policy. Citizen membership allows Alaskans to advise state agencies on specific issues, provides regulation for industry, ensures consumer protection, and impacts official policies.


Edit Module

Add your comment: