Edit ModuleShow Tags
Edit ModuleShow Tags

Alaska Office of Boating Safety receives national recognition


(Anchorage, AK) – The Alaska Division of Parks and Outdoor Recreation’s Office of Boating Safety was recently recognized with three awards at the 2017 conference of the National Association of State Boating Law Administrators (NASBLA). 

Education Specialist Kelli Toth was named the 2017 National Boating Safety Educator of the Year. This award symbolizes the highest level of achievement among boating safety educators in the U.S. Among her many accomplishments since Toth joined the Office of Boating Safety in 2011, the total number of students attending Kids Don’t Float education program classes has swelled to over 75,761.

“In a profession where outstanding work is the standard, Kelli’s passion and dedication are above exemplary,” said Alaska State Parks Director Ethan Tyler.

The Office of Boating Safety also won the NASBLA Innovations Award, presented to a program or initiative that demonstrates the highest level of innovation leading to advances in boating safety. The annual award was established to bring greater visibility to exemplary state, corporate or public-private partnership programs and to encourage the sharing of these initiatives with other agencies and recreational boating safety stakeholders.

Boating Law Administrator Jeff Johnson was inducted into the National Boating Safety Council’s National Boating Safety Hall of Fame. Inductees are chosen from among those who have demonstrated vital leadership and support through many years of service to boating safety.

“Jeff was the State of Alaska’s first official Boating Law Administrator in 1998. Credit is due to Jeff for the establishment and the many successes of the Alaska Boating Safety Program to date,” Tyler said.

“These awards from NASBLA are the result of years of tireless work and amazing passion for protecting and educating Alaskans. This state is so very fortunate to have people like Jeff and Kelli with such commitment to boating safety in Alaska, and I am proud to be on their team,” Tyler said.

CONTACT: Jeff Johnson, 907-269-8705, jeff.johnson@alaska.gov

Edit Module

Add your comment: