Edit ModuleShow Tags
Edit ModuleShow Tags

Alaska Women’s Hall of Fame 2017 Induction on Thursday, May 4


The Alaska Women’s Hall of Fame will conduct its 2017 Induction on Thursday, May 4, 2017 at 1100 W. 10th Ave in the First Baptist Church, located on the west end of the Park Strip in Anchorage. The event is open to the public at no charge. Doors will open at 5pm and the program will start at 6pm.

Eleven Alaska women from across the state will be honored for their accomplishments within their communities and professions.

Come and hear the stories of artists, business leaders, law makers, educators, musicians, and culture bearers. There are women from Crooked Creek to Sitka and from Atka to Fairbanks. They have been shaping the face of Alaska for decades and continue to inspire future generations. Join us in honoring these women.

1. Dixie Belcher - Juneau musician and organizer who brings people across the globe together through music on behalf of peace, justice and greater discourse.

2. Kay Brown - Served in the Alaska House of Representatives for a decade, directed the Alaska Division of Oil and Gas, was a journalist and has directed the Alaska Democratic Party for the past seven years.

3. Paula Easley - Founding Director of the Resource Development Council, advocate for the responsible development of Alaska resources and has served as a Trustee of the Alaska Mental Health Trust for the last decade.

4. Elizabeth Elsner, M.D. - A Fairbanks pediatrician who was one of twelve doctors in Alaska 1953. She started the Fairbanks Regional Public Health Center, was an original instructor for WAMI in the '70s, and also the UAF campus physician. She is 93 years old.

5. Tennys Owens - Founder of the Artique Ltd, a gallery and gathering place for Alaskan artists. Created "Prints for a Purpose" to raise funds for nonprofits. She is has been a civic leader in Anchorage for decades.

6. Elizabeth Parent, PhD - From Crooked Creek, she is the first Alaska Native woman to earn a PhD. (from Stanford). When studying at UAF she served on the boards of the Tundra Times and Fairbanks Head Start. She became a Professor of American Indian Studies at San Francisco State University for 20 years and remains a national advocate for the advancement of Alaska Native and American Indian people.

7. Catheryn Rasmuson - An advocate for high-risk youth through board service with Covenant House, Alaska Children’s Services and McCauley House. She is a philanthropist who was central to the development of the Providence Hospital Cancer Center and also the Pediatric Newborn Intensive Care Unit there.

8. Teri Rofkar - Tlingit artist and weaver of Ravenstail robes and spruce root baskets, who is a Culture Bearer from Sitka. She is world renowned for preserving 6,000 year old Tlingit methods of gathering and weaving natural materials.

9. Elsa Sargento - Educator and leader in the Filipino-American community in Alaska, as well as president and board member of Bridge Builders. Also an inductee in the International Asian Academy Hall of Fame.

10. Kathryn Seller - Aleut educator who got her teaching degree in 1909 and taught in villages in the Aleutian chain and Kodiak for 40 years. Was honored by a Congress in 1950 for "Outstanding Service to her People."

11. Carol Swartz - Homer community collaborator who leads the Kachemak Bay campus of UAA. She initiated the community women’s shelter and the Kachemak Bay Writer's Conference.

The Alaska Women’s Hall of Fame is dedicated to honoring women whose contributions have influenced the direction of Alaska across all fields of endeavor from any part of the state.

The Alaska Women’s Hall of Fame hosts a web site at www.alaskawomenshalloffame.org with the biographies and photos of all women inducted since its inception in 2009.

The Alaska Women’s Hall of Fame is a non-profit organization with tax-exempt status under Section 501(c)(3). For information call 907-279-4836.


Edit Module

Add your comment: