Edit ModuleShow Tags
Edit ModuleShow Tags

Alaska Workforce Investment Board Recognizes David G. Stone Award Recipients


AWIB's David G. Stone Awards recognizes those who have made significant contributions that help students and adults attain meaningful career skills that also support Alaska's industry needs.

Images courtesy of PromoRepublic

JUNEAU, Alaska— The Alaska Workforce Investment Board (AWIB), the state’s lead planning and coordinating entity for employment training in Alaska, presents awards each year to professionals who have made significant contributions to career and technical education (CTE) or Registered Apprenticeship in Alaska, and to an employer whose efforts and initiatives have had an extraordinary impact on the community.
The awards are named for David G. Stone, a former Deputy Commissioner of the Alaska Department of Labor and Workforce Development and long-time vice-chair of the AWIB. During his career in public service, Mr. Stone was instrumental in advancing CTE, Registered apprenticeship, and workforce development opportunities for all Alaskans. Since his death in 2012, the awards have carried his name in recognition of his dedication to workforce development and promoting Alaska hire.
“The David G. Stone Awards recognize outstanding instruction and training efforts that improve and promote career and technical education in the state,” said Larry Bell, chair of the AWIB. “These recipients have made significant contributions toward programs that are helping students and adults attain the skills they need for meaningful careers and to support Alaska’s industry needs.”

This year’s award recipients are:

David G. Stone K-12 Career and Technical Education Instructor/Administrator of the Year:
Matthew “Taw” Lindsey, Principal, Metlakatla High School

Mr. Lindsey is the Principal of Metlakatla High School. Beyond his duties as Principal, Mr. Lindsey also serves as the school’s master dive instructor, CTE program committee coordinator, first aid and CPR instructor, summer school coordinator, and CTE grant director. In addition to building a school scuba program that has trained almost 80 divers in the past decade, he has championed a new CTE facility for the school’s Native art, woodshop, auto shop, and dive programs. With a commitment to the school and community that is inspiring, Mr. Lindsey is constantly brainstorming ways to build high school CTE programs and to strengthen the community of Metlakatla.


David G. Stone Postsecondary Instructor/Administrator of the Year:
Xiomara Owens, Behavioral Health Aide Program Manager, Alaska Native Tribal Health Consortium

Ms. Owens has been a champion of training behavioral health aides statewide. In partnership with Ilisagvik Tribal College, she helped create a curriculum for an Associates of Applied Science degree in compliance with the Community Health Aide Program Certification Board standards and procedures. Ms. Owens designed the program to accommodate the needs of the behavioral health aides who live in remote locations around the state, which allows students to stay in their respective villages for the majority of their training experience. Via partnerships with the U.S. Department of Labor and the Alaska Department of Labor and Workforce Development, Ms. Owens designed and completed the application to establish a Registered Apprenticeship for behavioral health aides – the first in the nation.


David G. Stone Employer of the Year:
Tanana Chiefs Conference

Tanana Chiefs Conference (TCC) is actively engaged in the workforce system. TCC supports training for many industries and career paths, partnering with other industry professionals so the people they serve can access top-level career development opportunities. TCC works primarily in post-secondary education, but they are placing an ever-increasing emphasis on youth workforce and leadership skill development. TCC also partners with the business community to obtain internship opportunities for their members through their Athabascan Self-Sufficiency Assistance Program. 

The AWIB solicits nominations each year for the David G. Stone Awards. The next nomination period is anticipated to begin in October 2018. For more information, visit the AWIB website. 

Edit Module

Add your comment: