Edit ModuleShow Tags
Edit ModuleShow Tags

Phillips to be named 2013 distinguished alumna


The University of Alaska Fairbanks Alumni Association will honor former Alaska Legislature Speaker of the House Ramona “Gail” Phillips with the 2013 Distinguished Alumna Award.

Phillips will receive the award Sept. 21 during the Nanook Rendezvous awards dinner at the Westmark Hotel. The event is part of the UAF Alumni Association's annual reunion, scheduled for Sept. 19 – 21.

Phillips, the oldest of seven children, was born in Juneau and raised near Nome, Alaska. In 1967, she graduated from University of Alaska with a bachelor’s degree in business administration.

Phillips has been a statewide leader in Alaska for many years. In the 1980’s, she served on the Kenai Peninsula Borough Assembly and the Homer City Council and was the chair of the Alaska Municipal League. In 1990, Phillips was elected to the Alaska House of Representatives, where she served five terms and was the second female Speaker of the House, a position she held from 1995-96 and 1997-98.

The Distinguished Alumnus Award was first given in 1962 and recognizes service to UAF, business or professional accomplishments and distinguished human service.

The association will also honor seven other alumni during the awards luncheon.

The 2013 Alumni Achievement Awards for Business and Professional Excellence will go to Douglas Schrage, '85, the interim director of public safety at UAF; Peter Probasco, '79, the assistant regional director for the U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service’s Migratory Birds and State Programs; and Lorna Shaw, '96 and '05, external affairs manager at Sumitomo Metal Mining Pogo, LLC.

The Alumni Achievement Award for University Support will go to George Plumley, ’91 and ’98, former president of the UAF alumni association board of directors and a State of Alaska planner. The Alumni Achievement Award for Community Support will be awarded to Jack “Dick” McKinnon, ’50, the Alaska High School Hall of Fame member and former basketball coach who led Lathrop High School to its first state basketball title.

The William R. Cashen Service Award will be presented to Tammy Tragis-McCook, ’99 and ’00, development director at the UAF School of Management. The award recognizes outstanding service to the alumni association.

Glen Franklin, ’36, Alaska Mining Hall of Fame member, will be the recipient of the Lenhart J.H. Grothe Resource Award. The Grothe Award posthumously honors an alumnus for contributions in the resource, mining or agricultural fields.

The awards dinner is just one of many activities scheduled as part of the 2013 Alumni Rendezvous. Other events include the chancellor’s welcome reception and alumni night at The Pub. For a full schedule and to register or to purchase dinner tickets, visit www.uaf.edu/alumni/reunion/ or call 907-474-7081. The deadline to reserve a seat at the dinner is 5 p.m. Tuesday, Sept. 17.

Edit Module

Add your comment: