Edit ModuleShow Tags
Edit ModuleShow Tags

GCI's TERRA Receives National Broadband Award


September 6, 2013 – The National Association of Telecommunications Officers and Advisors (NATOA) Board of Directors today announced the recipients of NATOA’s 2013 Community Broadband Awards. These honors are awarded to exceptional leaders and innovative programs that champion community interests and broadband deployment in local communities nationwide. Recipients will receive their awards at NATOA’s 33rd Annual Conference, to be held in Orlando, FL from September 16 - 19 at the Loews Portofino Bay Hotel.

“NATOA’s Community Broadband Awards proudly honor the people, communities, and organizations that lead the nation in improving government and public options in broadband technology,” said NATOA president Joanne Hovis. “These pioneers have distinguished themselves in their extraordinary efforts, achievements, and innovation in community-based approaches to broadband.”

The 2013 Community Broadband Award recipients are:


Community Broadband Hero of the Year

Deb Socia, City of Boston for pioneering efforts to develop and sustain broadband adoption programs that enable digital literacy and bring the benefits of technology and broadband to citizens of Boston who have not before found the technology accessible.


Community Broadband Visionary of the Year

Alberto Carvalho, Superintendent of the Miami-Dade School District for championing the effective use of technology in the nation’s fourth largest school district, promoting digital literacy, and combating the digital divide.


Community Broadband Fiber Network of the Year

The City of Longmont, CO for developing a vision and business plan to expand world class broadband infrastructure to each home in the City and thereby secure the City’s economic future.


Community Broadband Wireless Network of the Year

The TERRA Network for extending broadband to some of the most remote areas of Alaska and providing affordable service to some of the state’s least served regions and citizens.


Community Broadband Organization of the Year

Network Startup Resource Center, Oregon (NSRC) for its 20 years of effort helping develop networks and communications infrastructure in Africa, Asia/Pacific, Latin America/Caribbean, and the Middle East.


Community Broadband Project of the Year

North Carolina Next Generation Network (NCNGN) for demonstrating how community/university collaborations can enable exploration of new models for public-partnerships in broadband.


For more information on the award recipients, the NATOA Community Broadband Awards, and NATOA’s efforts to bring about a national broadband strategy that recognizes the vital and integral role of local governments, visit www.natoa.org or contact Steve Traylor, Executive Director/General Counsel at the number above.

NATOA is a national trade association representing local government jurisdictions and consortiums, including elected and appointed officials and staff, who oversee communications policies and services in local governments throughout the country.

Edit Module

Add your comment: