Edit ModuleShow Tags
Edit ModuleShow Tags

Alaska Gasline Moves Forward with AGDC Board Appointments


September 13, 2013, Juneau, Alaska – Governor Sean Parnell today made a key move in finalizing the Alaska Gasline Development Corporation, furthering the state’s efforts to bring Alaska’s natural gas to Alaskans. The governor announced his appointments to the Alaska Gasline Development Corporation (AGDC) Board of Directors.

“The people appointed today bring deep and diverse expertise to the AGDC Board,” Governor Parnell said. “They have proven individual track records and success in team settings. I am confident that AGDC will meet the goal of getting Alaska’s gas to Alaskans and markets beyond.”

Governor Parnell appointed Albert “Al” Bolea, John Burns, Dave Cruz, Drue Pearce, and Richard “Dick” Rabinow, as well as Commissioner Susan Bell and Commissioner Dianne Blumer to the board. Bell has served as Commerce commissioner since July 2010 and Blumer was appointed Labor commissioner in September 2012.

Bolea, of Big Lake, has worked on almost every level within the oil and gas industry for nearly 40 years. He is a distinguished adjunct professor of leadership at the University of Alaska College of Business and Public Policy, a member of the college’s advisory board, and a member of the leadership development committee. Bolea has served as the chairman of Alyeska Pipeline Service Company, the chief executive officer of Dubai Petroleum in the United Arab Emirates, and is a retired BP Alaska executive. He has been a leadership expert for the U.S. Department of Energy and an in-resident CEO and lecturer at the University of Houston, Bauer School of Business. Bolea received a bachelor’s degree in management from Robert Morris University and a master’s degree in business administration from the University of Pittsburgh.

Burns, a lifelong Alaskan from Fairbanks, is a former attorney general for the State of Alaska. He has served as an adjunct faculty member at the University of Alaska Fairbanks (UAF), teaching graduate and undergraduate business law courses. Burns currently works for Burns & Associates. He received a bachelor’s degree in history from UAF and his juris doctorate from the University of Puget Sound School of Law.

Cruz, of Palmer, is a lifelong Alaskan who has been involved in construction and resource development since 1976. He is the president of Cruz Construction, Cruz Energy Services, and Cruz Marine – firms specializing in heavy civil construction, remote camp construction, oil field services, and construction support. Cruz has served on the Matanuska-Susitna Borough Port Commission, the boards of the Resource Development Council for Alaska and Associated General Contractors, and is a member of the Alaska Support Industry Alliance. 

Pearce, of Anchorage, served in the Alaska Legislature for 17 years, presiding as Senate president for two terms. In 2006, she was nominated by President George W. Bush to serve as the first federal coordinator for Alaska natural gas transportation projects. Pearce is currently the president of Spill Shield of Anchorage and is a senior policy advisor at Crowell & Moring, LLP. She is board president of Institute of the North and a member of the Marine Exchange of Alaska Board and the board of directors of the Alaska Aerospace Corporation. She also serves on the advisory board of the Kenai River Sportfishing Association. Pearce previously served on the boards for the Anchorage Economic Development Corporation, Alaska Women’s Aid in Crisis, and Special Olympics Alaska. She holds an MPA from Harvard University’s Kennedy School of Business.

Rabinow has an extensive background and leadership in the petroleum industry. He worked for ExxonMobil for 34 years, serving in numerous posts, including president of ExxonMobil Pipeline Company. Rabinow was the president and CEO of Longhorn Pipeline Partners before becoming president of The Rabinow Consortium, LLC where he currently works as a consultant to the pipeline industry and serves on industry and government panels. He is a prior member of the Committee on Alaska’s Oil and Gas Infrastructure of the National Academies’ Transportation Research Board (TRB). Rabinow also served on the TRB’s Committee for Pipelines and Public Safety and on the steering committee for the Pipelines and Informed Planning Alliance sponsored by the Pipeline and Hazardous Materials Safety Administration in the U.S. Department of Transportation. He is a former member of the executive committee and chairman of both the Association of Oil Pipelines and the owners committee of the Trans Alaska Pipeline System. Rabinow holds a bachelor’s degree in engineering mechanics from Lehigh University and master’s degrees in mechanical engineering and management from the Massachusetts Institute of Technology.

Edit Module

Add your comment: