Edit ModuleShow Tags
Edit ModuleShow Tags

Marine Energy Technology Symposium: Call for Papers


The Global Marine Renewable Energy Conference (GMREC) is honored to host the inaugural Marine Energy Technology Symposium. The symposium will provide a venue where technical experts from across disciplines can publish and present cutting-edge wave and water current energy research that helps accelerate the pace of technology development. Symposium organizers are seeking papers that offer innovative technical solutions and new insight into technology challenges. Specific topic areas in which papers are being solicited are presented below. In addition, authors are encouraged to submit papers that are relevant to the marine renewable energy industry that do not explicitly fit into one of the specified topic areas. Papers will be evaluated and selected through a competitive peer-review process and the authors of each selected paper will give a 20-minute paper presentation at the symposium, with an additional 10 minutes for questions and discussion.

Symposium Chairs

Dr. Robert Thresher

Research Fellow

National Renewable Energy Laboratory

Dr. Daniel Laird

Water Power Technology Manager

Sandia National Laboratories

Topic Areas of Interest

Papers are sought on all aspects of wave energy converter and water current turbine design, analysis, and measurement techniques that have the potential to advance the scientific understanding of the technologies. Specific areas of interest include:

  • Numerical methods for simulating fluid-structure interactions, multi-body dynamics, hydrodynamics, power-take-off systems, structural performance, and structural dynamics
  • Wave tank and field measurement techniques for characterizing device performance, motions, and loads
  • Wave and current (including turbulence) measurements and resource characterization
  • Advanced control strategies to improve power performance and/or reduce device loads
  • Device design (e.g. size, shape, mass, etc.) optimization methods
  • Materials and coatings
  • Design and analysis of mooring line systems
  • Array optimization and layout
  • Validation methods for numerical models
  • Results from field tests
  • Device deployment, maintenance, and recovery strategies
  • Cost-of-energy modeling

Submission Process

Abstracts must be submitted via email to samantha.rooney@nrel.gov by November 28th, 2012. The abstracts will be peer-reviewed by members of the technical review committee and authors will be informed of acceptance by January 3rd, 2013. If accepted, final papers must be submitted via email to samantha.rooney@nrel.gov by March 29th, 2013.

Abstract and Paper Preparation Instructions

Please ensure that abstracts and papers conform to the following standards:

  • Abstracts should be submitted in an extended format, consisting of no more than 4 pages, including figures and references
  • Papers should be a maximum of 10 pages, including figures and references
  • The body of the text should be single-spaced 11-point font.
  • The title, authors' names, affiliations, addresses, and e-mails should appear centered below the title on the first page and the presenting author should be indicated.
  • Abstracts and papers must be submitted in PDF format with a maximum file size of 5 MB.

Important Dates

  • Abstract submission deadline: November 28th, 2012
  • Authors notified of abstract acceptance: January 3rd, 2013
  • Final paper submission deadline: March 29th, 2013

Technical Review Committee Members

Robert Thresher (symposium co-chair), National Renewable Energy Laboratory

Daniel Laird (symposium co-chair), Sandia National Laboratories

Fotis Sotiropolous  (symposium vice-chair), University of Minnesota

Michael Lawson  (symposium vice-chair), National Renewable Energy Laboratory

Walt Musial, National Renewable Energy Laboratory

Diana Bull, Sandia National Laboratories

Ryan Sun Chee Fore, U.S. Department of Energy

Sean O'Neill, OREC

Arnie Fontaine, Penn State University / Applied Research Laboratory

Jim Thomson, University of Washington

Brian Polagye, University of Washington / NNMREC

Belinda Batten, Oregon State University / NNREC

Bob Paasch, Oregon State University

Howard Hanson, Florida Atlantic University / SNMREC

M. Laura Beninati, Bucknell University

Richard Rochelaeu, University of Hawaii

Vince Neary, Oak Ridge National Laboratory

Jennifer States, Pacific Northwest National Laboratory

John Huckerby, OES/Power Projects, Ltd

Jochen Bard, Fraunhofer Institutes

Henry Jeffrey, University of Edinburgh

Edit Module

Add your comment: