Edit ModuleShow Tags
Edit ModuleShow Tags

DeVilbiss, Arvin re-elected in unoffical results


Written by Patty Sullivan   Tuesday, 02 October 2012 22:26


boroughsealMAT-SU—Matanuska-Susitna Borough Mayor Larry DeVilbiss and Assembly Member Ron Arvin appear to be re-elected in tonight’s unofficial results. Assembly Members Jim Colver and Vern Halter ran unopposed. Debby Retherford gains School Board Seat A and Incumbent Sarah Welton retains School Board Seat B.

The voter turnout was 15.46 percent tonight. Some 1,949 outstanding ballots including questioned, special needs, and absentee ballots remain. The canvass board begins meeting tomorrow and will start canvassing the absentee, the questioned, and special needs ballots. The election is scheduled to be certified on Oct 16 at 5 pm.

In the race for Borough Mayor, incumbent Larry DeVilbiss led with 5,566 votes over former planning commissioner Mark Masteller’s 3,672 votes.

In the Assembly district 3 race, Assembly Member Ron Arvin led with 762 votes over former Assembly Member Michelle Church with 583 votes.

In Assembly district 6, Assembly Member Jim Colver ran unopposed with 878 votes and 89 write ins.

In Assembly district 7, Assembly Member Vern Halter ran unopposed with 990 votes and 49 write ins.

In School Board seat A, Debby Retherford garnered the most votes with 3,714 votes, followed by Aimee Kopp with 3,350 and Steven Impson with 1,314.

In School Board seat B, Incumbent Sarah Welton held onto her seat with 4,571 votes, with challenger Heather Fussell at 3,872 votes.

Proposition 1: voters said no, 192 to yes, 110, at the polls to a proposed increase to the mill levy for the Willow Fire Service Area No. 35.

Proposition 2: voters approved a $20,000 property tax exemption for seniors and veterans and their widows. This exemption is in addition to the existing exemption for seniors and veterans. The vote was 7,093 yes to 2,253 no.

For more information call Borough Public Affairs Director Patty Sullivan at 355-0103 or psullivan@matsugov.us or contact the Borough Clerk's Office at 907-745-9683.


Edit Module

Add your comment: