Edit ModuleShow Tags
Edit ModuleShow Tags

2011 Governor’s Awards for the Arts And Humanities Recipients Announced


Ten outstanding citizens from around the state were recently selected by Governor Parnell as the 2011 recipients of the Governor's Awards for the Arts and Humanities.  For the first time, a shared arts and humanities award will be presented to Anchorage School District Superintendent Carol Comeau in recognition of her support for the arts and humanities in the education of all students in Anchorage.

2011 Recipients of the Governor's Awards for the Arts and Humanities are:

Arts Awards:

Margaret Nick Cooke Award for Alaska Native Arts and Languages: Dr. Maryanne Allan (Fairbanks)

Individual Artist Award: Arthur William "Bill" Brody (Fairbanks)

Lifetime Achievement: Jeff Brown (Juneau)

Business Leadership: Mike Powers, Chief Executive Officer, Fairbanks Memorial Hospital (Fairbanks)

Arts Advocacy:  Tom Heywood (Haines)

Business Leadership: Mike McCormick, Owner, Whistling Swan Productions (Eagle River)

Shared Arts and Humanities Special Award: Carol Comeau, Superintendent, Anchorage School District (Anchorage)

Humanities Awards:

Jim Rearden, writer and historian, Homer

Dr. Ray Barnhardt,  UAF Center for Cross Cultural Studies (Fairbanks)

Dr. Angayuqaq Oscar Kawagley (posthumous), UAF Center for Cross Cultural Studies (Fairbanks)

For more information about the Governor's Awards for the Arts and Humanities, call the Alaska State Council on the Arts at 907.269.6610 or visit: www.eed.state.ak.us/aksca

The awards will be presented during a dinner event at the Hotel Captain Cook on Wednesday, Oct. 19.  The awards are sponsored by the Alaska State Council on the Arts, the Alaska Humanities Forum and the Office of the Governor.

The mission of the Alaska State Council on the Arts (ASCA) is to foster the development of the arts for all Alaskans through education, partnership, grants and services. ASCA is a division of the Alaska Department of Education and Early Development, and is governed by eleven council members appointed by the Governor. It is supported with general funds appropriated by the Alaska State Legislature and the National Endowment for the Arts, with additional support for arts education programs from the Rasmuson Foundation.

161 Klevin Street, Suite 102 Anchorage, AK 99508 ~ 1.888.278.7424 ~ 907.269.6610 www.eed.state.ak.us/aksca

Edit Module

Add your comment: