Edit ModuleShow Tags
Edit ModuleShow Tags

Patil to be Named 2010 Distinguished Alumnus


Fairbanks, Alaska— The University of Alaska Fairbanks Alumni Association will honor professor of petroleum engineering Shirish Patil with the 2010 Distinguished Alumnus Award.

Shirish will receive the award Sept. 24 at a luncheon at the Princess Riverside Lodge. The event is part of the alumni association's annual reunion, scheduled for Sept. 23 - 25.

Shirish, the oldest of three children, was born and raised in Pune, India. In 1981, he graduated from the College of Engineering in Pune, India and moved to the United States shortly thereafter. He continued his studies, first at the University of Pittsburgh and later at UAF, earning master’s degrees in mechanical engineering, petroleum engineering and engineering management. In 2007, he received a doctorate in mineral resource engineering from UAF.

Patil’s career epitomizes the university’s tripartite mission of teaching, research and service. In more than 20 years at UAF, he has taught 15 different courses in the petroleum engineering department. He has authored more than 75 technical papers and reports, edited two conference proceedings and garnered more than $14 million in research grants. He also served as the UAF Faculty Senate president and sat on multiple boards and commissions within the energy industry. Patil was the 2007 recipient of the Emil Usibelli Distinguished Public Service Award, one of UAF’s most prestigious awards. He was the 2005 Alaska Engineer of the Year, has been recognized by the students in his department seven times for his outstanding service and has received numerous other awards from university and professional groups.

The Distinguished Alumnus Award was first given in 1962 and recognizes service to UAF, business or professional accomplishment, and distinguished human service.

The association will also honor six other alumni during the awards luncheon.

The 2010 Alumni Achievement Awards for Business and Professional Excellence will go to Paul Glavinovich,'61, '67, former president of Thor Gold Alaska and current mining consultant.

The Alumni Achievement Award for University Support will go to Jackie Stormer, ’89, assistant director UAF Marketing and Communications.

The Alumni Achievement Award for Community Support will be awarded to both former state representative and attorney Fredric Brown, '64, and miner and community activist Roger Burggraf, ‘59.

The William R. Cashen Service Award will be presented to Southcentral Chapter officer Marta Mueller, '95. The award recognizes outstanding service to the alumni association.

Eskil Anderson, ‘41, former president of Goldrich Mining Company, will be the recipient of the Lenhart J.H. Grothe Resource Award. The Grothe posthumously honors an alumnus for contributions in the resource, mining or agricultural fields.

The awards luncheon is just one of many activities scheduled as part of the 2010 alumni reunion. Other events include a book-signing by Alaska state constitutional delegate and former Lt. Gov. Jack Coghill, who received an honorary doctorate in 2004; alumni night at The Pub; and the lighting of the Starvation Gulch bonfires. For a full schedule and to register, or to purchase luncheon tickets, visit www.uaf.edu/alumni/reunion/ or call 907-474-7081. The deadline to reserve a seat at the luncheon is Tuesday, Sept. 21 at 5 p.m.
Edit Module

Add your comment: