Edit ModuleShow Tags
Edit ModuleShow Tags

Mayor Dan Sullivan Endorses the Anchorage Veterans Memorial Redevelopment Project


Group will fundraise to restore and renovate the Anchorage Veterans Memorial at Delaney Park Strip

ANCHORAGE- Mayor Dan Sullivan and members of the military community
today announced the formation of a committee whose goal it is to restore and
renovate the Anchorage Veterans Memorial. The Anchorage Veterans Memorial
Committee will operate as a separate association in its efforts to secure funding
for the Anchorage Veterans Memorial Redevelopment Project.

The current Anchorage Veterans Memorial on the Park Strip is deteriorating and
requires renovation, including improved access for the disabled; replacing plants
and landscaping; adding lighting and security systems; and increased relevance
to veterans and those who would honor them.

The project's design and other details of the project have been approved by the
Municipality of Anchorage's (MOA) Military and Veterans Affairs Commission, the
Parks & Recreation Commission, the Planning and Zoning Commission, and the
Urban Design Commission. Today's announcement signals the mayor's support
for the project and support of the committee's fundraising efforts.

The project has already received $200,000 from the MOA via a bond package,
and the State of Alaska provided a direct grant of $250,000. An estimated
additional $1 million is needed to complete the project and provide for its ongoing
The project design incorporates a quiet, reflective setting surrounding the
flagpole, and will retain the panels honoring Alaska citizens lost in wars. The
World War II soldier statue will remain, as well as the monument to Purple Heart
recipients. The iconic Fallen Warrior statue (boots, rifle, helmet) will be added
during the renovation.

The MOA Military and Veterans Affairs Commission and the Sister Cities
Commission are the only commissions authorized to fundraise, per the
Anchorage Municipal Charter (4.60.220).

The mayor's endorsement of the redevelopment plan makes the committee a
source/resource for interested persons to contact for donation information,
fundraising opportunities or other forms of support.

Members of the Anchorage Veterans Memorial Committee are:

COL Mary Louise Rasmuson, USA, (Ret), Honorary Chairwoman
Mr. Tim Benintendi, Co-Chair
Col Tom Burton, USMC (Ret), Co-Chair
Col Catkin Burton, USMC (Ret), Treasurer
Mr. Jerry Beale, Member
Mr. Fred "Bulldog" Becker, Member
Ms. Lanie Fleischer, Member
Mr. Albert Fleury, Member
Mr. James R. Grant, Member
Mr. Dave Kaufman, Member
Ms. Sharon Long, Member
MAJ Joe Lyon, AKANG, Member
Mr. Rob McWhorter, Member
Mr. Gordon Severson, Member
Mr. Ron Siebels, Member
Mr. Joshua Tempel, Member
Mr. Conrad Villegas, Member
Mr. Tom Webster, Member

For more information about the project, contact:
Tim Benintendi, Vietnam Veteran, or
Clyde T. (Tom) Burton, Col, USMC (Ret),
Co-Chairmen, Anchorage Veterans Memorial Committee, at 276-2923.
Edit Module

Add your comment: