Edit ModuleShow Tags
Edit ModuleShow Tags

Legislative Task Force on Higher Education and Career Readiness Meeting Today and Thursday in Fairbanks


(Fairbanks, Alaska) – A legislative task force looking at ways to improve access to higher education and get Alaska high school graduates better prepared for the career choices they will face will hold two days of meetings in Fairbanks this week. The 20-member Advisory Task Force on Higher Education and Career Readiness, created under SB 221, is meeting today and Thursday on the University of Alaska Fairbanks campus at 910 Yukon Drive, Butrovich Building, in the Regents' Conference Room (Rm. 109).

The task force is co-chaired by Senate President Gary Stevens, R-Kodiak, and House Speaker Mike Chenault, R-Kenai. Other members of the advisory task force are:

Mike Andrews, Executive Director, Alaska Works Partnership (Voc/Tech Training)

Barbara Angaiak, President, NEA-Alaska

Don Bantz, President, Alaska Pacific University

Diane Barrans, Executive Director, ACPE (AK Student Loans/Financial Aid)

Steve Bradshaw, President, ACSA (AK  K-12 Superintendents)

Heather Brakes, Legislative Director, & Designee for Governor Sean Parnell

Lolly Carpluk, Coordinator, AK Native Teacher Preparation Project (UAF)

Peter Finn, Chair, AK Coalition of Student Leaders (Designee for UnivAk Student Regent)

Carl Rose, Executive Director, AASB (AK School Boards)

Patrick Gamble, President, University of Alaska

Dr. Keith Hamilton, President, Alaska Christian College

Donald Handeland, Student Representative, Alaska State Board of Education & Early Development

Senator Charlie Huggins

Julie Kitka, President, Alaska Federation of Natives (or her designee)

Larry LeDoux, Commissioner, AK Dept. Education & Early Development

Representative Paul Seaton

Fred Villa, UA Associate Vice President for Workforce Programs

The agenda for the meetings follows: 

Wednesday, September 1, 2010 - 8:30 A.M. TO 5:00 P.M.


8:35-9:35         DR. DON BANTZ, President, Alaska Pacific University

9:45-10:45       STEVE BRADSHAW, President, Alaska Council of School Administrators

10:55-11:55     LOLLY CARPLUK, Director, University of Alaska Fairbanks, Rural Teacher Preparation Project

12:15-1:45       WORKING LUNCH AND TOUR: Hutchinson High School with Jeanete Hyden, Principal

2:00-3:30         BRENDA BAUTSCH, Education Policy Specialist, National Conference of State Legislatures "The Path to a Degree: Policies to Improve College Access and Success"

3:40-4:40         BRUCE VANDAL, Director, Postsecondary Education & Workforce Development Institute, Education Commission of the States, - Part 1. "The Lay of the Land: A Policy Framework to Leverage State Policy to Increase Student Success"

4:40-5:00         ROUNDTABLE DISCUSSION ON ISSUES COVERED: Summarize Actions Suggested

Thursday, September 2, 2010 - 8:30 A.M. TO 3:30 P.M.

8:30-9:30         STEVE SMITH, UA Chief Information Technology Officer, Broadband & Internet Capability in AK;

9:40-10:40       CAROL GERING, Associate Director, UAF Center for Distance Learning;

10:45-11:45     PETE PINNEY, Associate Dean, UAF College of Rural, Community & Native Education, UAF Development Education;

12:00-1:15       WORKING LUNCH AND TOUR: Effie Kockrine Charter School with Linda Evans, Principal, and Sue McCoulloug, Early College Coordinator

1:30-2:30         BRUCE VANDAL, Director, Postsecondary Education & Workforce Development Institute, ECS, Part 2 –“Key Strategies to Increase the Success of Developmental Education Students"

2:40-3:20         PUBLIC COMMENT


Edit Module

Add your comment: