|  April 17, 2014  |  
Mostly Cloudy   49.0F  |  Forecast »
Bookmark and Share Email this page Email Print this page Print Feed Feed

HHS Awards $39 Million to States for Increasing Adoptions

WASHINGTON--(BUSINESS WIRE)--The U.S. Department of Health and Human Services today awarded $39 million to 38 states and Puerto Rico for increasing the number of children adopted from foster care. States use the funds from this adoption incentive award to improve their child welfare programs.
"All children deserve loving, safe and permanent homes"
"All children deserve loving, safe and permanent homes," said HHS Secretary Kathleen Sebelius. "It is gratifying that most states continue to excel in promoting the adoption of children from foster care. I sincerely thank every adoptive family that has welcomed a child into their home."

States receive $4,000 for every child adopted beyond their best year's total, plus a payment of $8,000 for every child age 9 and older and $4,000 for every special needs child adopted above the respective baselines. The year 2007 is the baseline.

This year's incentive award recipients completed more adoptions in 2009 than in the 2007 baseline year.

"America's communities benefit when children grow up in stable families," said David A. Hansell, HHS acting assistant secretary for children and families. "We're very pleased that the adoption incentives program is helping states improve their programs and place more children into homes that are theirs forever."

States and territories receiving today's funding are: Alabama, Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, Connecticut, Delaware, Florida, Georgia, Hawaii, Idaho, Illinois, Indiana, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maine, Maryland, Michigan, Minnesota, Mississippi, Missouri, Nebraska, Nevada, New Hampshire, New Mexico, North Carolina, Oklahoma, Oregon, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, South Carolina, South Dakota, Texas, Utah, Virginia, West Virginia, Wisconsin, Wyoming, and Puerto Rico.

FY 2010 Adoption Incentive Awards
Based on FY 2009 Earning Year State Award Alabama $1,477,397 Alaska $719,213 Arizona $584,582 Arkansas $1,360,481 California $0 Colorado $0 Connecticut $520,809 Delaware $102,745 Dist of Columbia $0 Florida $5,718,271 Georgia $364,921 Hawaii $187,775 Idaho $1,147,906 Illinois $155,888 Indiana $1,360,481 Iowa $0 Kansas $531,438 Kentucky $1,371,110 Louisiana $1,006,189 Maine $113,373 Maryland $173,603 Massachusetts $0 Michigan $3,511,033 Minnesota $446,408 Mississippi $38,972 Missouri $510,180 Montana $0 Nebraska $637,726 Nevada $467,665 New Hampshire $49,601 New Jersey $0 New Mexico $658,983 New York $0 North Carolina $1,077,048 North Dakota $0 Ohio $0 Oklahoma $1,204,593 Oregon $637,726 Pennsylvania $2,175,353 Rhode Island $198,403 South Carolina $655,440 South Dakota $60,230 Tennessee $0 Texas $7,468,475 Utah $432,236 Vermont $0 Virginia $14,172 Washington $0 West Virginia $1,030,990 Wisconsin $276,348 Wyoming $49,601 Puerto Rico $382,635

Add your comment: