Edit ModuleShow Tags
Edit ModuleShow Tags

Alaska State Chamber of Commerce Recognizes Microcom as the 2010 Bill Bivin Small Business of the Year


The Alaska State Chamber presented its annual recognition awards Tuesday evening at the Chairs' Banquet during the organization's 51st Annual Conference and Trade Show. Awards presented were the William A. Egan Outstanding Alaskan of the Year, the Bill Bivin Small Business of the Year, the Local Chamber of the Year and the North Star Award.

The Bill Bivin Small Business of the Year Award, established in 1993, pays tribute to businesses that exemplify leadership, ethics and organization. Named to honor the memory of Alaska State Chamber Past Chair Bill Bivin, these businesses have demonstrated consistent community involvement, have an excellent business reputation, and have established leadership in their respective field. Microcom fully embodies all of these qualities.

Founded in 1984 and owned by Sandra Blinstrubas and Chuck Schumann, Microcom has always been a leader in bringing new telecommunications and television technology to Alaska. Today Microcom has grown from two employees to more than 60, with offices in Anchorage, Wasilla, Fairbanks, and Juneau, and has expanded its operations to Hawaii with offices in Kailua-Kona and Kapolei. Microcom has become the largest satellite TV retailer in Alaska and Hawaii, as well as the regional service provider for DISH Network in Alaska and Hawaii, and the Home Services Provider for DirecTV in Alaska.

While that is the business side, there is a community side to Microcom. Microcom has sponsored Iditarod mushers, local sports teams in Fairbanks and Anchorage, the Nordic Ski Club biathlon program, and numerous local charities. Microcom staff has donated its time to support the University of Alaska program on Nunivak Island for high school students, as well as donating time and expertise to the morale fund of the Coast Guard detachment on Attu Island.

Probably the most important community contribution is the continuing effort they have expended at the FCC and with the satellite industry to insure Alaska has access to the same services as offered in the other states.

This dedication and positive perspective is one of the many reasons the Alaska State Chamber of Commerce is proud to honor Sandra Blinstrubas and Chuck Schumann of Microcom, as the 2010 Bill Bivin Small Business of the Year.

Edit Module

Add your comment: