Edit ModuleShow Tags
Edit ModuleShow Tags

Mortgages Still Available in Current Eligible Areas for USDA Rural Housing Programs


Deadline for Changes to Defined Rural Areas Extended to January 15, 2014

   ANCHORAGE, Alaska, October 23, 2013 – U.S. Department of Agriculture-Rural Development (USDA-RD) Alaska State Director Jim Nordlund announced today that boundaries to eligible rural areas previously scheduled to change on October 1st will remain the same at least until January 15, 2014.  This is due to the passage of the Continuing Appropriations Act, 2014 which has postponed the implementation date until then.

   "USDA-RD continues striving to provide service excellence to our Rural Housing customers and    this is only a delay in implementation.  If they act quickly, this delay provides an opportunity for Alaska’s realtors, lenders and prospective home buyers, even if temporary," said Nordlund. 

   Areas that remain temporarily eligible include the Knik-Fairview, Lakes and Wasilla Census Designated Places (CDPs) in the Mat-Su Borough; and College, South Van Horn, Badger and North Pole CDPs in the Fairbanks North Star Borough.

   To view the new maps go to http://eligibility.sc.egov.usda.gov and select "Future Eligible Areas" on the left menu.

   NOTE: Complete applications received before January 15, 2014, will continue to use rural area definitions based on 2000 Census data.

   For details, or questions about specific changes in the Mat-Su Borough, please contact Cathy Milazzo at: (907) 761-7725, or catherine.milazzo@ak.usda.gov, or in the Fairbanks Northstar Borough, Jane Gibson at (907) 479-4362, Ext. 1003, or jane.gibson@ak.usda.gov.

Edit Module

Add your comment: