Edit ModuleShow Tags
Edit ModuleShow Tags

Denali Alaskan Hires New In-House Legal Counsel and AVP of Compliance


Sarah Melton

PHOTO: Courtesy of Denali Alaskan Federal Credit Union

Anchorage – Sarah E. Melton has been hired as In-House Counsel & AVP of Compliance at Denali Alaskan Federal Credit Union. Melton will serve as in-house legal counsel to the Credit Union, advising the CEO and senior management on legal and regulatory risk and compliance.  She will be responsible for overseeing the Credit Union’s compliance and legal programs, advising staff on various trade practice laws, and helping advance general credit union legislation at local, state, regional and national levels. She will also serve as the liaison to state and federal legislators, regulators, and outside legal counsel.

Melton first came to Alaska to work in the Office of the Attorney General where she focused on consumer protection and antitrust law. Melton held a judicial clerkship with the Anchorage Superior Court before serving in federal program management with the National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration in Washington, D.C. Melton returned to Alaska as a federal analyst with NOAA and served as a consultant on state and federal policy before joining Denali Alaskan Federal Credit Union.

Melton graduated from the Northwestern School of Law at Lewis & Clark College in Portland, Oregon. She received her Bachelor’s degree from the University of Colorado at Boulder, graduating summa cum laude and a member of Phi Beta Kappa. She is also currently enrolled in the Executive MBA in Strategic Leadership program at Alaska Pacific University.

Melton has taught Business Law at the University of Alaska, is a member of the Alumni Board for Lewis & Clark law school, and serves as a pro bono attorney for the Alaska Network on Domestic Violence and Sexual Assault and the Anchorage Youth Court.

Denali Alaskan Federal Credit Union is the third largest credit union in Alaska, with more than 58,000 members and assets in excess of $520 million. The Credit Union’s 19 branches are located in Anchorage, Eagle River, Fairbanks, Juneau, Kenai and Wasilla.

Edit Module

Add your comment: