Edit ModuleShow Tags
Edit ModuleShow Tags

Alaska Philanthropy Day Luncheon to Honor 10 of Alaska’s Most Generous


ANCHORAGE: The Alaska Philanthropy Day Luncheon will honor 10 women and men who share their money, time and expertise to bring about lasting community change in Alaska communities.  Among them are a 92-year old who’s volunteered for more than 50 Anchorage organizations; a couple who help the organizations they support employ entrepreneurial approaches; a beloved locally-owned restaurant; and a teenager who will receive her award posthumously.

2013 Alaska Philanthropy Day Awards will be presented to:

  • E. Jean Kaufman, Outstanding Volunteer
  • Eric McCallum & Robin Smith, Outstanding Philanthropists
  • Snow City Café, Outstanding Small Business
  • Brooke McPheters, Outstanding Youth (posthumous award)
  • Sarah Mixsell, Outstanding Youth
  • Era Alaska, Outstanding Corporation
  • Joanne Phillips-Nutter, Outstanding Professional
  • Joseph E. Usibelli & Peggy Shumaker, Eugene R. Wilson Award

Set for Thursday, November 7 at Anchorage’s Hotel Captain Cook, the event is part of National Philanthropy Day, a hallmark of the Association of Fundraising Professionals (AFP). In addition to the Awards Luncheon, the local celebration will feature a daylong conference offering training for those who lead nonprofits as fundraising, or development, professionals. Across Alaska, 118 development professionals are members of AFP, and 33 have achieved Certified Fund Raising Executive (CFRE) status.

Janice Gow Pettey, an internationally recognized authority on ethics in fundraising, is this year’s Alaska Philanthropy Day keynote speaker. Pettey teaches at the University of San Francisco, where she earned her Doctorate. She is the author of the books, Ethical Fundraising: A Guide for Nonprofit Boards and Fundraisers and Cultivating Diversity in Fundraising. Pettey will also address the annual meeting of AFP Alaska Chapter members and lead conference workshops.

To make reservations for this year’s Alaska Philanthropy Day Awards Luncheon or register for the conference, visit afpalaska.afpnet.org.

Edit Module

Add your comment: