Edit ModuleShow Tags
Edit ModuleShow Tags

The Howard Rock and Ted Stevens Smokehouse Gala


The Board of Trustees of First Alaskans Institute (FAI) would like to invite you to participate with their first annual signature event, The Howard Rock & Ted Stevens Smokehouse Gala taking place on Friday, November 30th at the Hilton Anchorage.   We would be honored if you could participate by sponsoring a table, sponsoring program advertisement, and/or providing a silent or live auction item or package. 
Tables range from $2,500-$100,000, find the sponsorship form and how to participate here: http://thehowardrockandtedstevenssmokehousegala.org/how-to-attend  The proceeds of this gala benefit the First Alaskans Institute a statewide organization, learn more about FAI here: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pdwkISlJ4n8

The Importance of a Name

The Smokehouse Gala is named after Howard Rock (Inupiaq), founder and former editor of the Tundra Times, and Ted Stevens, our former long serving senator and friend.  Both men championed Alaska Native rights and issues throughout their lives.  We honor their legacies of commitment, friendship and tenacity; and we thank their families for the years they both gave to their communities and all of Alaska.

The Gala is also named for the smokehouse, representing an inherent connection to Alaska Native cultures - from drying or smoking fish or meat to sharing and trading across the state.  The ability to live our way of life is symbolized in this most humble and functional of structures.

Event Purpose

With this event, we seek to honor Alaska Native peoples and the friends who have advanced our common cause, recognizing the people who have made important contributions to the advancement and vibrancy of our peoples, cultures and communities in a way that reflects who we are and where we are going.  Funds raised through this event will benefit First Alaskans Institute and our initiatives- Leadership Development, the Alaska Native Policy Center, and Community Engagement, which includes publishing the First Alaskans Magazine and Community Investments grants.

We continue to receive community support each day as the Gala draws near.  Tables are selling quickly, silent and live auction items are being acquired daily, and we are so excited to announce that the Alyeska Pipeline Services Company is sponsoring the VIP Reception before the main program.  Our goal is to secure one Great-Grandmother sponsor at the $100,000 level and one Grandmother sponsor at the $50,000 before November 20th.  These donors will underwrite major costs of production and broadcasting of the Program and Awards.  This goal would support FAI’s mission to include the entire state, reaching all Alaskans to promote healthy and thriving communities.


In return for participating with the Gala, you will be recognized on the event website, event facebook page and on a recurring slideshow shown during the main program.  Live auction donors and premium level sponsors receive recognition on stage as well as a banner.  Our goal is to broadcast this program throughout the state of Alaska.  Your contributions to the gala would be recognized statewide.  The Gala is a great opportunity for corporations and businesses to market their services by participating with the gala.  Customizable sponsorships and advertisement opportunities may be available.  Please let me know if you are interested in learning more about how you may partner with First Alaskans Institute at the gala.

Quyana, Thank you for considering this request for support. 

Smokehouse Gala Planning Committee

606 E Street, Ste 200

Anchorage, Alaska 99501


907.677.1700 office

907.229.8969 mobile

907.677.1780 fax




Progress for the next 10,000 years…

True to identity, heritage, and values Alaska Natives are informed and engaged in leading the decisions that shape the future.

Honorary Committee Members

Rex Rock, Sr., Co-Chair
Catherine Stevens, Co-Chair

Will Anderson
Tom Barrett
Senator Mark Begich
Patrick K. Gamble
Barney Gottstein
Wally Hickel, Jr.
Marc Langland
Janie Leask
Senator Lisa Murkowski
Alice Rogoff
Representative. Don Young

Al Adams (In Memoriam)

First Alaskans Institute Board of Trustees

First Alaskans Institute is governed by a nine-member Board of Trustees, composed of current and past presidents, chairs and co-chairs of the Alaska Federation of Natives, as well as other Alaska Natives. The current Board of Trustees includes:



 Willie "Iggiagruk" Hensley - Chairman (Inupiaq)



Sam Kito, Jr., Vice Chair (Tlingit)

 Kito, Inc.



Valerie Davidson Secretary/Treasurer(Yup'ik)
Alaska Native Tribal Health Consortium



Sven Haakanson, Jr. (Alutiiq/Sugpiat)
Alutiiq Museum in Kodiak



Albert Kookesh (Tlingit)
Alaska State Senator
Co-Chair, Alaska Federation of Natives
Chairman, Sealaska Corporation



Sylvia Lange (Tlingit and Aleut)
Owner, Cordova's Reluctant Fisherman Hotel
Director, Eyak Corporation



Oliver Leavitt (Inupiaq)
Arctic Slope Regional Corporation



Georgianna Lincoln (Athabascan)
Doyon Ltd. Board of Directors
Former State Senator



Byron I. Mallott (Tlingit)
Senior Fellow, Alaska Native Policy Center
Director, Sealaska Corporation



In Memoriam:
Morris Thompson (Athabascan)
Our Friend and Colleague

Edit Module

Add your comment: