Edit ModuleShow Tags
Edit ModuleShow Tags

Alaska Philanthropists, Volunteers, and Businesses Honored at Awards Luncheon


Anchorage – The Association of Fundraising Professionals (AFP) Alaska Chapter will recognize outstanding local philanthropists, volunteers and businesses at its annual Alaska Philanthropy Day awards luncheon on Friday, November 9 from 11:30 a.m. to 1:00 p.m. at the Dena’ina Civic & Convention Center. More than 300 people will attend the luncheon celebrating individuals and organizations for their contributions to countless causes across Alaska. In North America, more than 100 AFP chapters and nearly 50,000 people will participate in National Philanthropy Day events. The AFP Alaska Chapter is pleased to recognize the following for their contributions to Alaska’s communities through their philanthropic efforts:

Outstanding Business in Philanthropy – Carlile Transportation

Founded in 1980 by brothers John and Harry McDonald, Carlile has grown from two tractors to one of Alaska’s largest trucking companies—and their philanthropy crosses the state, helping provide critical services to vulnerable populations, both rural and urban. Carlile provides valuable food delivery for food pantries and distribution centers serving low-income families and seniors. They also support wildlife conservation with delivery of hay and seafood; provide transportation and storage for local arts groups; and get much-needed clothing to children and youth throughout Alaska.

Outstanding Small Business in Philanthropy – Petrotechnical Resources of Alaska

Since its founding in 1997, Petrotechnical Resources Alaska (PRA) has not only employed experts in their field, but also very caring and philanthropic-minded individuals. Their company is dedicated to making the community a better place to live. Accordingly, their staff lead by example both in giving and in volunteerism. PRA supports organizations that have a broad reach and assist in important initiatives to solve community problems.

Outstanding Individual in Philanthropy Award – Kyong Hollen

A successful Fairbanks businesswoman, Ms. Hollen holds a deep belief that every person has a responsibility to invest in his or her community to make it a better place to live. She is involved with many Fairbanks non-profits as a donor, volunteer and—in many cases—a mentor. Among them: Big Brothers Big Sisters, Farthest North Girl Scouts Council, American Red Cross of Tanana Valley, Fairbanks Downtown Rotary and Chamber of Commerce. In addition to these many leadership roles, she inspires with her investments, which include a leadership giving society and a university scholarship fund.

Outstanding Volunteer in Philanthropy Award – Raquel Edelen

An energetic champion of local nonprofits, Ms. Edelen serves with vision and passion. She has demonstrated, exceptional leadership in coordinating and motivating others to give—whether for major fundraising projects or providing in-kind assistance. She is current Board President for AWAIC; serves on the boards of AEDC, Anchorage Downtown Partnership and Visit Anchorage; is a member of Anchorage East Rotary; and chairs Catholic Social Services’ Charity Ball.

Outstanding Youth Group in Philanthropy – Stacey Garbett

A Girl Scout for most of her life, Stacey organized a service project to help injured soldiers returning from Afghanistan acclimate to civilian life. Her project, “Home for Hero,” provides relaxing environments—or “hospitality suites”—at the Warrior Transition Battalion’s Fairbanks Unit. Her care and dedication added small touches that help wounded soldiers relax and get back on their feet. Says Stacey, “I have a strong sense of patriotism and I always wanted to do something to help the soldiers.”

Outstanding Professional in Philanthropy – Beth Rose, CFRE

Bringing more than 25 years of development, non-profit management, public relations and strategic planning skills to her job, Ms. Rose is a life-long Alaskan who is passionate about growing philanthropy in the state. She is Assistant Vice Chancellor for Development at the University of Alaska Anchorage, where she oversees a team raising millions of dollars annually to increase the excellence of and access to higher education at Alaska’s largest university.

Eugene R. Wilson Award – Arliss Sturgulewski

This award—presented on only eight occasions—is given to an individual or organization making extraordinary contributions to Alaska philanthropy and the nonprofit sector. Ms. Sturgulewski, who enjoys a lifetime of public service, has impacted a wide range of individuals, organizations and communities. Her gifts and long-time service on various boards and committees reads like a “Who’s Who” of Alaska nonprofits. She is a model of philanthropic giving who has inspired generations of Alaskans through her selfless service and philanthropy.

Edit Module

Add your comment: