Edit ModuleShow Tags Edit ModuleShow Tags

NCB President Selected to 2012 Cooperative Hall of Fame


Washington, D.C.- Four outstanding cooperative leaders will receive the cooperative community's highest honor on Wednesday, May 2rd, 2012, when they are inducted into the Cooperative Hall of Fame.  The 2012 inductees include: cooperative educator, Dr. Michael Cook; cooperative agri-business leader, William Davisson; consumer cooperative developer, William Gessner; and, cooperative banker, Charles Snyder.  

These cooperative leaders will be recognized at the annual Cooperative Hall of Fame Dinner and Induction Ceremony at Washington's National Press Club on Wednesday, May 2, 2012.  In conjunction with the dinner, a public forum will be held on the afternoon of May 2nd that will focus on topics related to the United Nation's declaration of 2012 as the International Year of the Cooperative.  

"The roster of the Cooperative Hall of Fame tells the story of the U.S. cooperative community through the lives and accomplishments of extraordinary individuals.  Induction to the Cooperative Hall of Fame is reserved for those who have made genuinely heroic contributions to the cooperative community," said Gasper Kovach, Jr., Board Chair of the Cooperative Development Foundation (CDF) which administers the Hall of Fame.  Those selected for induction in 2012:


Michael Cook  (Education) Robert D. Partridge Endowed Professor in Cooperative Leadership and Executive Director of The Graduate Institute of Cooperative Leadership (GICL), University of Missouri-Columbia.


William Davisson  (Agriculture & Farm Credit) CEO (retired), of GROWMARK, Inc.


William Gessner  (Consumer Goods & Services) Cooperative developer and member of the CDS Consulting Cooperative.


Charles Snyder  (Banking and Cooperative Development) President & CEO, National Cooperative Bank. The Cooperative Hall of Fame is administered by the Cooperative Development Foundation (CDF), the 501(c)(3) non-profit affiliate of the National Cooperative Business Association (NCBA).  Nominations are received annually from throughout the cooperative community, with the final selection made by the NCBA Board of Directors on the recommendations of a selection committee of national cooperative leaders.  The Cooperative Hall of Fame gallery is on display in NCBA's offices in Washington, DC and it also can be visited on the web at www.heroes.coop.  For dinner attendance or sponsorship information, contact CDF at 703-302-8097 or tbuen@cdf.coop. Cooperatives are business organizations that are democratically owned and controlled by those who use the cooperative's services or by those who are the worker/owners of the cooperative.  Membership is voluntary, member education is a priority, governance is based on one-member-one-vote, the economic benefits are distributed proportionally according to each member's level of participation in the cooperative, and there is a commitment to helping other cooperatives as well as the communities in which they do business.

The Cooperative Development Foundation (www.cdf.coop ) is a 501 (c)(3) non-profit organization that advances economic and community development through innovative cooperative enterprise.  

Edit Module