Edit ModuleShow Tags
Edit ModuleShow Tags

Institute of the North Welcomes Three New Members to its Board of Directors


The Institute of the North is pleased to announce three additions to its board of directors; retired Coast Guard Adm. Tom Barrett, president of Alyeska Pipeline Service Company, Peter Scott, communications manager for Shell Oil Company and Peter Taylor, consul of Canada in Anchorage. Taylor will serve in an ex officio position.

“The new additions bring to the board unique and valuable private and public sector experience as well as domestic and international perspectives,” said Ira Perman, chair, Institute of the North Board of Directors. “With a mission to convey the reality, richness and responsibility of the North, the Institute of the North values a multi-disciplinary approach to problem solving. We believe the board of directors should reflect this.”

Barrett became the president of Alyeska Pipeline Service Company in January Prior to Alyeska, he was the deputy federal coordinator for the Alaska Natural Gas Transportation Projects, managing the Alaska field office. He was deputy secretary of the U.S. Department of Transportation, serving under Presidents George W. Bush and Obama. He served 35 years in the Coast Guard, commanding operations in Alaska and the North Pacific from 1999 to 2002, emphasizing safety and environmental protection.

Scott joined Shell’s Alaska team in 2010 as the communications manager, bringing 16 years of experience in the global energy industry. Now living in Anchorage, Scott spent several years in Australia overseeing external affairs for Shell’s downstream businesses in the country. He also developed Shell Australia’s Greenhouse Gas Management Team.

Taylor currently serves as consul of Canada in Anchorage. He has a particular interest in Arctic issues and Canadian-U.S. policy and economics. A Canadian Foreign Service officer, Taylor has 28 years of experience in political and public diplomacy in Canada, the U.S., Central America, Colombia, Poland and the United Nations.

The members join the Institute of the North’s current board members: Jack Hickel, Randy Hagenstein, Leif Selkregg and Michael Sfraga. The board has a new executive committee featuring Ira Perman, chair; Drue Pearce, vice chair; Greta Schuerch, secretary; Duane Heyman, treasurer and emeritus members John Hendrickson, Max Hodel, Gail Phillips and Steve Shropshire.

The Institute of the North is a nonprofit organization founded by former Gov. Walter J. Hickel in 1994. Its mission focuses on understanding the reality, the richness and the responsibility of the North.

Edit Module