Edit ModuleShow Tags
Edit ModuleShow Tags

Governor Parnell Appoints Alaskans to Boards and Commissions


October 1, 2010, Juneau, Alaska – Governor Sean Parnell today appointed Alaskans to the Advisory Board on Alcoholism and Drug Abuse, the Alaska Fire Standards Council, the Alaska Historical Commission, the Alaska Pioneer Homes Advisory Board, and the Workers’ Compensation Board.

Alaska Fire Standards Council

Governor Parnell reappointed Brian Davis, Robert Dennard, and David Gibbs to the Alaska Fire Standards Council. The 11-member council establishes the training and performance standards for certification of fire services personnel in Alaska, establishes the firefighting training standards in the State of Alaska, and collaborates with other governmental and non-governmental agencies on fire services.

Davis, of Fairbanks, has worked for the City of Fairbanks Fire Department since 1998. He is also an instructor of rescue practices and firefighting through UAF and through The Rescue Company. Davis has served with Chena Goldstream Fire and Rescue and the Chugiak Volunteer Fire and Rescue. He is reappointed to a seat representing firefighters.

Dennard, of Sitka, is an electrician for the Sitka Electric Department and is the Volunteer Fire Captain for the City of Sitka. He is the 2001 recipient of the Alaska State Firefighters’ Association Firefighter of the Year, the City of Sitka’s outstanding volunteer, and the Sitka Elks Lodge citizen of the year. Dennard is reappointed to a seat reserved for a volunteer firefighter from a community of 2,500 or more residents.

Gibbs, of Fairbanks, is the manager of emergency operations for the Fairbanks North Star Borough. He has worked extensively in emergency and safety positions in a number of states, including service as the safety manager and emergency manager for the Kenai Peninsula Borough. Gibbs is reappointed to a public seat from a community of 2,500 or more residents.

Alaska Historical Commission

Governor Parnell reappointed Jonathon Ross and Douglas Veltre to the Alaska Historical Commission. The nine-member commission advises the governor and the Legislature on matters relating to Alaska’s history, oversees the state’s historic preservation plan, recommends historic preservation grant projects for funding and develops criteria for evaluating monuments and historic sites.

Ross, of Anchorage, is the president and CEO of the Alaska Native Heritage Center. He is a former board member of the Alaska Native Professional Association, Kenaitze Indian Tribe and the UAA Alaska Native Studies Advisory Council. Ross is reappointed to a seat representing indigenous ethnic groups.

Veltre, of Anchorage, is a professor emeritus of anthropology with UAA, where he taught full time for 33 years. He is a member of the American Association for the Advancement of Science, the Arctic Institute of North America, the Alaska Anthropological Association and the Alaska Historical Society. Having performed archaeological and anthropological research in Alaska for nearly 40 years, Veltre is reappointed to a seat reserved for an archaeologist.

Alaska Pioneer Homes Advisory Board

Governor Parnell reappointed Lee Cromwell and Robert Sivertsen to the Alaska Pioneers’ Homes Advisory Board. The eight-member board conducts inspections of property and procedures of the Alaska Pioneers’ Homes and recommends improvements to the governor.

Cromwell, of Anchorage, is a facility manager for NANA Management Services LLC. He is a retired U.S. Army paratrooper with 20 years of service, and is also a commissioner on the Municipality of Anchorage Military and Veterans Affairs Commission. Cromwell is reappointed to a seat reserved for a veterans’ representative.

Sivertsen, of Ketchikan, retired after 38 years of service with the City of Ketchikan in public works and solid waste services. He is a lifetime Alaskan, a member of the Ketchikan City Council, and he serves as the chairman of the Ketchikan Pioneers’ Home Foundation. Sivertsen is reappointed to a public seat.

Advisory Board on Alcoholism and Drug Abuse

Governor Parnell reappointed James Duncan, Lonnie Walters, and Raymond Watson to the Advisory Board on Alcoholism and Drug Abuse. The 15-member board advises the Legislature, governor and state agencies on matters relating to the rehabilitation of individuals dealing with alcohol and drug abuse.

Duncan, of Soldotna, is the senior pastor of Peninsula Christian Center. He is a member of the Cook Inlet Council on Alcohol and Drug Abuse. Duncan has served on the board since 2003, and is reappointed to a public seat.

Walters, of Craig, has worked in numerous substance-abuse treatment programs in Alaska and elsewhere, most recently with Communities Organized for Health Options, Inc. He is a retired U.S. Navy chief petty officer with 22 years of service. As a recovering alcoholic with 28 years of sobriety, Walters is reappointed to a seat representing beneficiaries of treatment programs.

Watson, of Bethel, is the director of Phillips Ayagnirvik Treatment Center for the Yukon-Kuskokwim Health Corporation. He is also the board chairman of the Association of Village Council Presidents and the chairman of Orutsaurmuit Native Council. Watson is reappointed to a seat representing providers of treatment services.

Alaska Workers’ Compensation Board

Governor Parnell appointed Brad Austin to the Alaska Workers’ Compensation Board. The board hears and resolves disputed benefits claims, and oversees the Workers’ Compensation system.

Austin, of Juneau, is the training coordinator and instructor of United Association of Plumbers and Pipefitters Local Union 262. He is also a part-time adjunct professor at UAS. Austin is the former owner and operator of Glacier Plumbing and Heating, and formerly worked at Harri Plumbing and Heating and Cameron Plumbing. He is appointed as a labor representative in the First Judicial District.

Edit Module

Add your comment: