Edit ModuleShow Tags
Edit ModuleShow Tags

Governor Parnell Announces Board Appointments


October 26, 2010, Anchorage, Alaska – Governor Parnell announced his appointments to the Alaska Council on Emergency Medical Services, the Alaska Safety Advisory Council and the Alaska Seismic Hazards Safety Commission.

Alaska Council on Emergency Medical Services

Governor Parnell reappointed Donald Hudson, Karen O’Neill and Roy Sursa to the Alaska Council on Emergency Medical Services. The council advises the commissioner of Health and Social Services and the governor on planning and implementation of the emergency medical services system.

Hudson, of Anchorage, is an emergency room physician who worked at Alaska Regional Hospital, Valley Hospital and Providence Hospital for more than 30 years. He also served as vice president and partner of Denali Emergency Medicine Associates.  Hudson is the medical director for Crossroad Medical facility and Iliuliuk Clinic in Unalaska, and for a variety of EMS services and mining/oil exploration sites around the state. Hudson has helped develop Federal Extended Stay Clinics. He is reappointed to a seat representing emergency medicine or trauma care physicians.

O’Neill, of Nome, is the medical director of Norton Sound Regional Hospital. She has served as a medical provider in the Nome region since 1975, including service with Emergency Medicine Associates and Norton Sound Health Corporation. O’Neill is reappointed to a seat reserved for an Alaska Native health care organization administrator.

Sursa, of Anchorage, is the president and emergency medical services chief of pre-hospital care for Alaska Professional Volunteers, Inc., where he also serves as a pre-hospital provider. He also works as an electrical superintendent for Municipal Light & Power, and is the former owner of Computer Plus Inc. Sursa is reappointed to a seat reserved for a pre-hospital provider.

Alaska Safety Advisory Council

Governor Parnell appointed Daniel Krusze and reappointed Skip Boomershine, Phillip Galloway, Scott Ketcham, Dawn Ring and Jimmie Rogers to the Alaska Safety Advisory Council. The council works with organizations to promote workplace safety and to reduce accidental deaths and injuries.

Krusze, of Anchorage, is the owner of DK Safety, which consults on construction and engineering projects. He is also a member of the board of directors of the Denali Safety Council, the California Trucking Association and John Wheeler Logging. Krusze is appointed to a public seat.

Boomershine, of Anchorage, is a field manager and safety coordinator of Dimond Electric Co. He is also an electrical journeyman and electrical administrator. Boomershine is the chair of the IBEW Local 1547 Safety Committee and the NECA/IBEW Statewide Safety Committee, and is active through his church serving others through faith-based organizations. He has also worked for Haakenson Electric Co., and served in the U.S. Air Force from 1975–79. Boomershine is reappointed to a labor seat.

Galloway, of Wasilla, is a health, safety and environmental instructor with Parker Drilling Company. He served in the U.S. Air Force for 25 years as a communications equipment maintenance superintendent. Galloway was a safety consultant for NMS Training Systems, a risk manager for the Alaska Municipal League Joint Insurance Association, and a health/safety/environmental specialist with NANA Development Corporation. He also teaches classes as adjunct faculty for Kenai Peninsula College's Occupational Safety and Health program, and Matanuska-Susitna College's Renewable Energy program. Galloway is reappointed to an industry seat.

Ketcham, of Eagle River, is an area director for the Occupational Safety and Health Administration (OSHA) in Anchorage. He has worked with the U.S. Department of Labor since 1998. Previously he served in the U.S. Army Medical Activity and the 6th Infantry Division stationed at Fort Wainwright. Ketcham is reappointed to a seat representing the federal government.

Ring, of Wasilla, TelAlaska’s Safety Manager since 2004, is an OSHA-certified safety/health specialist. She also has completed the American Society of Safety Engineers Certificate in Safety Management, is an authorized OSHA general industry trainer, Medic First Aid and CPR instructor, and RSI Advance Trainer for RF Radiation. Ring is a member of the National Safety Council, American Society of Safety Engineers and the National Fire Protection Association.

Rogers, of Big Lake, is the director of safety and risk management for ASRC Construction Holding Company and has more than 27 years’ experience in the safety, security and risk management industries in Alaska. He is a certified healthcare safety professional. Rogers served on the Matanuska Susitna Borough Local Emergency Planning Committee, and was formerly on the Northwest Arctic Local Emergency Planning Committee and Public Safety Commission, and the Alaska Hospital Preparedness Committee. He will be chairing next years’ Governor’s Safety and Health Conference. Rogers is reappointed to an industry seat.

Alaska Seismic Hazards Safety Commission

Governor Parnell appointed Robert Scher and Richard Koehler to the Alaska Seismic Hazards Safety Commission. The commission recommends goals and priorities for seismic hazard mitigation to the public and private sectors; recommends related policies to the governor and Legislature; and offers advice on coordinating disaster preparedness and seismic hazard mitigation activities of government at all levels.

Scher, of Anchorage, is the senior geotechnical engineer at R&M Consultants Inc. He has served on the Municipality of Anchorage (MOA) Geotechnical Advisory Commission for more than 15 years and is the present chair, and is also a member of the American Society of Civil Engineers Technical Council of Cold Regions Engineering. Scher formerly worked for Exxon Company USA and has participated in numerous post-earthquake damage assessment training programs conducted by the MOA, discussing the geotechnical aspects of seismic evaluations. He is appointed to a public seat.

Koehler, of Fairbanks, is an earthquake geologist for the State of Alaska Division of Geological and Geophysical Surveys. He worked as a research assistant at the University of Nevada Center for Neotectonic Studies, as a geologist with William Lettis & Associates, Inc., and as a paleo-seismologist for the U.S. Geological Survey. Koehler will represent the Department of Natural Resources on the commission.

Edit Module

Add your comment: