Edit ModuleShow Tags
Edit ModuleShow Tags

Alaska State Chamber of Commerce E-News October 08, 2010


Mark Your Calendars



OCTOBER 27& 28

Do not miss the most important membership meeting of the year.  Join Alaska State Chamber Members, Board Members and Local Chamber Members in determining our 2011Legislative Priorities and Positions.

Positions must have statewide impact and be consistent with the State Chamber's mission.  Each position submitted must have a representative available at the Tie-In to make a live presentation, which explains the reasoning and support for the position.  Each position must maintain close adherence to the format suggestions, especially financial impact; and strict adherence to the submittal deadline of October 15, 2010.  A copy of the Tie-In Guidelines is available on-line.

All priorities and positions adopted at the Tie-In will be forwarded to the Board of Directors for ratification at the Board meeting on October 28. 

Registration and Agenda are available on-line at our Website

State Chamber Board Elects the 2010-2011 Executive Committee

The Board of Directors of the Alaska State Chamber of Commerce is pleased to announce the election results for officers of the organization.  The following Board members were elected to serve as the Executive Committee for the 2010-2011 State Chamber Board year.

Kip Knudson with Tesoro Alaska Company in Anchorage will serve as Chair.
Tadd Owens with Pioneer Natural Resources in Anchorage will serve as Chair Elect.
Allen Hippler with Faulkner Walsh Constructors of Anchorage will serve as Vice-Chair.
Skip Reierson with Petro Marine Services will serve as Secretary/Treasurer. 
Caroline Higgins with Totem Ocean Trailer Express (TOTE) in Anchorage will serve as Past Chair this board year.

Four additional Board members elected to serve on the Executive Committee include Mary Ann Pease of MAP Consulting in Anchorage, Margaret Russell with Seekins Ford Lincoln Mercury in Fairbanks, Phil Cochrane with BP Exploration (Alaska) Inc. in Anchorage, and Renee Schofield with TSS, The Safety Specialists of Ketchikan.

At the conclusion of the annual meeting in Juneau, Chair Knudson noted, "that with the inaugural business summer camp for high school students - Alaska Business Week - and the reactivation of the Alaska Business Political Action Committee, the State Chamber made quality contributions to Alaska's long-term economic health."

The Executive Committee is developing the Strategic Plan for the coming 2010-11 Board year.

With the election of the new Executive Committee, the State Chamber begins its year of activity.  State Chamber members are encouraged to participate in the many committees and programs of the Chamber.  The next event is the organization's Legislative Tie-In set for Anchorage on October 27 and 28.

State Chamber Announces Award Recipients

The Alaska State Chamber presented its annual recognition awards September 21 at the Chairs' Banquet during the organizations 51st Annual Conference and Trade Show.  Awards presented were the William A. Egan Outstanding Alaskan of the Year, the Bill Bivin Small Business of the Year, the Local Chamber of the Year and the North Star Award.  See Pictures on-line.

The celebrated and prestigious William A. Egan Outstanding Alaskan of the Year award is presented to individuals who have made substantial and continual contributions of statewide significance while working in the private sector.  Each year nominations are kept strictly confidential and the selection is made by the casting of a secret ballot by all past chairs of the Alaska State Chamber of Commerce.  The recipients of the Outstanding Alaskan of the Year form an impressive list of Alaskan "Who's Who" and dates back to its first honoree in 1964.  Originally known simply as the Outstanding Alaskan of the Year, the award name was changed in 1984 to Honor Governor William A. Egan, the first Governor of the State of Alaska.  The 2010 William A. Egan Outstanding Alaskan of the Year award was presented to Helvi Sandvik. Read Article On-Line.

The Bill Bivin Small Business of the Year Award, established in 1993, pays tribute to businesses that exemplify leadership, ethics and organization.  Named to honor the memory of Alaska State Chamber Past Chair Bill Bivin, these businesses have demonstrated consistent community involvement, have an excellent business reputation, and have established leadership in their respective field.  The Alaska State Chamber of Commerce Named Microcom as the Bill Bivin Small Business of the Year. Continue Reading

The Alaska State Chamber of Commerce annually recognizes an Alaskan chamber for consistent community involvement and an excellent business reputation.  We are pleased to announce that the 2010 Chamber of the Year award went to the Greater Soldotna Chamber of Commerce, who embodies both qualities in their efforts to build a year round economy in their community.   Continue Reading

The Alaska State Chamber of Commerce presents the North Star Award to an individual or organization in Alaska, who through a special project, action, or concern, developed or pursued the endeavor for the betterment of all Alaska residents.  These individuals or organizations provide a significant contribution to the future of the Great State of Alaska.

In the undertaking of a successful project, an individual or business must find the way to which goals and objectives are achieved.  With no leadership efforts or guidance, projects or ideas are lost and will not find their way to implementation.  Individuals or organizations who dedicate their time and energy to leading the way to the completion of a goal or project is recognized as a North Star - the individual or organization serves as a guiding star and leads to the successful completion of the endeavor.

This year's North Star Award recipient Ann Ringstad has truly been a guiding star.  For more than three years, the State Chamber Board of Directors discussed the need to bring heightened awareness to the Benefits of Business.  In 2009, after hearing a presentation about Washington Business Week, Ann Ringstad was so impressed with the presentation and its positive impact on high school students that she volunteered to be a Company Advisor at Washington Business Week's program in July of 2009.  Continue Reading

Edit Module

Add your comment: