Edit ModuleShow Tags
Edit ModuleShow Tags

Governor Parnell Announces State Board Appointments


October 13, 2009, Anchorage, Alaska - Governor Sean Parnell today announced appointments to the Alaska State Emergency Response Commission, the Boating Safety Advisory Council, the Marine Transportation Advisory Board and the Alaska Aerospace Development Corporation board of directors.

Alaska State Emergency Response Commission
Governor Parnell appointed Terry Strle to the Alaska State Emergency Response Commission.

The 16-member commission facilitates the preparation and implementation of all statewide, interjurisdictional and local emergency plans.

Strle is mayor of the City of Fairbanks. She is a former chair of the local Emergency Food and Shelter Program for the Federal Emergency Management Agency, and has served with the Fairbanks Rotary Club and the Tanana Valley United Way. Strle was appointed to a seat representing local government.

Boating Safety Advisory Council
Governor Parnell appointed Daniel O'Hara, and reappointed Terry Buness and Jim Sepel, to the Boating Safety Advisory Council.

This seven-member advisory board promotes boating safety in Alaska by helping write boating regulations, making recommendations for safety educational materials and promoting boating safety education programs throughout the state.

O'Hara, of Naknek, is mayor of the Bristol Bay Borough and serves on the Bristol Bay Native Corporation's board of directors. He is a commercial salmon fisherman, the owner and operator of Bay Marine Surveyors, a commercial pilot for Pen Air and the pastor of Naknek Community Bible Chapel. O'Hara was appointed to a public seat.

Buness, of Wrangell, has been a member of the U.S. Coast Guard Auxiliary for 25 years and holds a "six-pack" certification to carry passengers for hire. He has served as an emergency medical technician and firefighter and is currently the assistant fire chief at the Wrangell Fire Department. He is a partner in Buness Bros., Inc., a marine supply and variety retail business. He was reappointed to a public seat.

Sepel, of Juneau, is a retired U.S. Coast Guard commander and the current president of Sepel & Son Marine Surveying Inc. He is a board member and past president of the Society of Accredited Marine Surveyors. Sepel was reappointed to a public seat.

Marine Transportation Advisory Board
Governor Parnell reappointed Seth Church, Gerry Hope and Patrick Owen to the Marine Transportation Advisory Board.

The 11-member board advises the state on issues related to the Alaska Marine Highway System (AMHS), including its mission, core values, objectives, initiatives and performance goals.

Church, of Fairbanks, is the vice president of C Company, a general contracting firm with statewide projects. He has partnered with a Kikiktagruk Inupiat Corporation to operate Tuttu Equipment Rental, LLC and Black Gold Oilfield Services, supplying equipment and North Slope housing. Church is also a partner in multiple Fairbanks real estate companies. He was reappointed to an at-large seat from a community not served by AMHS.

Hope, of Sitka, is the transportation manager for the Sitka Tribe of Alaska as well as the president of the Alaska Native Brotherhood Sitka Camp #1. He serves as the secretary/treasurer for the Sitka Chamber of Commerce board of directors and formerly served on the Sitka Tribal Council. Hope was reappointed to a public seat representing central Southeast Alaska.

Owen, of Juneau, retired from the AMHS with 13 years of service and membership in the Inlandboatmen's Union. He spent much of his career in the marine industry, including employment as an engineer, crewman and commercial fisherman. Owen was reappointed to a seat reserved for a current or retired member of a labor union representing AMHS employees.

Alaska Aerospace Development Corporation Board of Directors
Governor Parnell appointed Ronald Sega to the Alaska Aerospace Development Corporation board of directors.

This 11-member board manages the corporation, which owns and operates the Kodiak Launch Complex located on Kodiak Island. The corporation also provides support for new and continuing national launch priorities involving the complex, and works with private corporations, universities and government agencies to offer expanded aerospace services to Alaska and the nation.

Sega, of Fort Collins, Colorado, is the vice president for energy, environment, and applied research at the Colorado State University Research Foundation, as well as the Woodward Professor of Systems Engineering at Colorado State University. He was formerly the under secretary of the U.S. Air Force, serving as the Department of Defense's executive agent for space. Sega also served as the director of Defense Research and Engineering and initiated the National Defense Education Program. He served in the U.S. Air Force and Air Force Reserves, retiring as a major general. Previously, he was also a NASA astronaut who flew two missions on Space Shuttle Discovery. Sega was appointed to a seat representing the aerospace industry.
Edit Module

Add your comment: