Edit ModuleShow Tags
Edit ModuleShow Tags

Alaska State Council on the Arts and the Alaska Arts and Culture Foundation Announce 2009 Connie Boochever Fellows


The Alaska State Council on the Arts and the Alaska Arts and Culture Foundation recently chose four individuals to receive this year's Connie Boochever Fellowships in the literary and performing arts. The $2,500 fellowship is for emerging artists, and each year the disciplines alternate between performing, literary and visual arts.

The four recipients are:
Anne Coray, poet, Port Alsworth;
Joan Kane, writer, Anchorage;
Yngvil Vatn Guttu, musician and actor, Anchorage;
Schatzie Schaefers, playwright, Anchorage

The Connie Boochever Fellowship was established in 2001 by her family after her death to honor and reflect the spirited passion of the arts Mrs. Boochever consistently demonstrated.

Connie Boochever was an avid performer, director, and producer of community theater and a lifelong patron and advocate of the arts. Her crusading efforts gave the arts a voice in Alaskan government and she played a key role in advocating for passage of legislation mandating Percent for Art in Public Places. Connie's legacy can be seen in art installed in public buildings around the state.

For more information about the Connie Boochever Fellowships, please contact the Alaska State Council on the Arts at 1.888.278.7424 or 907.269.6610 in Anchorage. The Fellowships are funded by the Connie Boochever Endowment and administered by the Alaska State Council on the Arts.
Edit Module

Add your comment: