Edit ModuleShow Tags
Edit ModuleShow Tags

Alaska State Chamber of Commerce E-News October 15, 2009


2009 Board Election Results

The Board of Directors of the Alaska State Chamber of Commerce is pleased to announce the election results for the organization.  The elections were held at the recently concluded Board meeting in Homer.  Elected to serve three year terms with terms expiring in 2012 on the Board of Directors of the State Chamber are the following members.

There were four At large seat and seven Senate District seats up for election this year.  Members who were elected and the seats they will represent are:

Incumbents for the four At-Large seats are:
At-Large - Portia Babcock, ConocoPhillips, Anchorage
At-Large - James W. Mendenhall, P.E., NANA Development Corporation, Anchorage
At-Large - Kris Norosz, Icicle Seafoods, Petersburg
At-Large - Brian Wenzel, ConocoPhillips, Anchorage

Board members for the seven Senate District seats are:
District A - Ketchikan/Sitka/Wrangell/Petersburg - Renee Schofield, Tongass Substance Screening, Ketchikan
District D - Fairbanks - Jeff Cook, Flint Hills Resources, North Pole
District H - Rural Mat-Su/Chugiak - Stan Hooley, Iditarod Trail Committee, Wasilla
District L - Anchorage, Downtown/Rogers Park/Midtown/Taku - Caroline Higgins, Totem Ocean Trailer Express (TOTE), Anchorage
District O - Anchorage, Campbell/Independence Park/Lore/Abbott - Heidi Franklin, Pebble Limited Partnership, Anchorage
District Q - Kenai/Soldotna - Lisa Parker, Parker Horn Company, Soldotna
District T - Bering Straits, Arctic - Brad Osborne, NANA Development Corporation, Anchorage

Additionally, each year the Chair appoints members to serve on the Board for two-year terms.  Appointed by Chair Caroline Higgins to serve two-year terms were the following State Chamber members.

Joe Everhart, Wells Fargo Bank Alaska, Anchorage
Dan Sterley, CH2MHill
Don Habeger   
Jeff Lentfer, Midas Alaska
Phil Cochrane, BP Exploration (Alaska)           
Richard Romer, The Boeing Company

Board Elects 2009-2010 Executive Committee

The Board of Directors of the Alaska State Chamber of Commerce is pleased to announce the election results for officers of the organization.  Elected to serve as the Executive Committee for the 2009-2010 State Chamber Board year are the following Board members.

Caroline Higgins with Totem Ocean Trailer Express (TOTE) in Anchorage will serve a second term as Chair, Kip Knudson with Tesoro Alaska Company in Anchorage will serve as Chair Elect, and Tadd Owens with Pioneer Natural Resources in Anchorage will serve as Vice-Chair.  Skip Reierson with Petro Marine Services will serve as Secretary/Treasurer.  Wendy Lindskoog with the Alaska Railroad Corporation in Anchorage will serve as Past Chair this board year.

Five additional Board members elected to serve on the Executive Committee include Mary Ann Pease of MAP Consulting in Anchorage, Margaret Russell with Seekins Ford Lincoln Mercury in Fairbanks, Allen Hippler with First National Bank Alaska in Bethel, Phil Cochrane with BP Exploration (Alaska) Inc. in Anchorage and Heidi Franklin with The Pebble Partnership in Anchorage.

At the conclusion of the annual meeting in Homer, Chair Higgins noted, "that with the exciting new programs to establish a summer business camp for high school students and the decision for the State Chamber to become the deployment partner for the Prosperity Project, we have the opportunity to make a significant difference for the business community in Alaska"

The Board of Directors is developing the Strategic Plan for the coming year.  To assist the Board in that process, Shelly Wade, Senior Planner with Agnew Beck is working with the Board to complete the 2009-10 strategic plan process.  With the election of the new Executive Committee, the State Chamber begins its year of activity.  State Chamber members are encouraged to participate in the many committees and programs of the Chamber.  The next event is the organizations Legislative Tie-In set for Anchorage on October 28 and 29. Alaska Business Roundtable - Maximizing Human Potential: Employing Qualified Individuals with Disabilities Time, date & location:
8 a.m. to 3 p.m. on November 12, 2009 at the
Dena'ina Convention Center in Anchorage

·        Recent Amendments to the Americans with Disabilities Act and what it means
·        Job accommodations made easy
·        Health care questions and options for employees with disabilities
·        Apprenticeship opportunities
·        Finding qualified applicants with disabilities
·        Discovering new markets through good disability communication and etiquette
·        Hiring incentives and tax benefits
·        Early return to work strategies for employees who become disabled or ill

What's available:
·        Travel stipends for employers outside of Anchorage - contact Patrick Reinhart at 907-269-8554
·        HR Professional Development Credits - contact Heidi Frost at 907-269-8999

Register online at www.regonline.com/business_forum. Cost is $50, lunch included.  For registration support, contact Raelynn Smith via phone 907-264-6244 or email anrs4@uaa.alaska.edu.

Questions? For any other questions regarding this event, contact Patrick Reinhart via phone 907-269-8554 or email patrick.reinhart@alaska.gov.

Tacoma-Pierce County Chamber Celebrating 125 Years!
TACOMA, Wash. - The Tacoma Pierce County Chamber is holding a luncheon in celebration of their 125th Anniversary on Thursday October 20, 2009 from 11:30 am -1:30 pm at the Greater Tacoma Convention and Trade Center, 1500 Broadway, Tacoma, 98402.  Registration and networking will be from 11:30 am - Noon.

Since 1884, starting with its first executive General J.W. Sprague (Civil War veteran and first Tacoma Mayor), the Chamber has provided strong business advocacy and service to the community.  Continuing its historic role, the Chamber looks forward to meeting current challenges and pursuing a prosperous tomorrow.

The keynote speaker for the Annual Meeting Luncheon will be futurist Glen Hiemstra.  Author of "Turning Future into Revenue: What Businesses and Individuals Need to Know to Shape Their Futures, "Hiemstra brings two decades of expertise in the futurist arena to speak on future trends and local opportunities in a post-bubble, next economy-a call to create the preferred future on this, the Chamber's 125th Anniversary.

Special thanks to Presenting Sponsor Totem Ocean Trailer Express, Inc., and Speaker Sponsor Rainier Connect.

The largest networking event we hold all year, our Business EXPO, is also happening on October 20 at the Greater Tacoma Convention and Trade Center from 10:30 a.m. - 6 p.m.

Edit Module

Add your comment: