Edit ModuleShow Tags
Edit ModuleShow Tags

SEARHC Awarded Accreditation from Joint Commission


Juneau, November 27, 2013 – SouthEast Alaska Regional Health Consortium (SEARHC) has once again earned The Joint Commission’s Gold Seal of Approval™ for accreditation by demonstrating compliance with The Joint Commission’s national standards for health care quality and safety in ambulatory care organizations. The accreditation award recognizes SEARHC’s dedication to continuous compliance with The Joint Commission’s state-of-the-art standards.

SEARHC underwent a rigorous unannounced on-site survey in September. A team of Joint Commission expert surveyors evaluated for compliance with standards of care specific to the needs of patients, including infection prevention and control, leadership and medication management at Sitka, Juneau, Haines, and Klawock. 

"This accreditation validates the great work we’re doing and that our providers and entire staff are meeting the highest standard of excellence within the healthcare community, not only at Mt. Edgcumbe Hospital and Ethel Lund Medical Center, but at all of our clinics, including Behavioral Health. As we continue to pursue excellence in our patient care, the guidance that the Joint Commission surveyors provided has been and will continue to be extremely helpful in this journey,” said SEARCH CEO, Charles Clement.  

The Joint Commission’s hospital standards address important functions relating to the care of patients and the management of hospitals. The standards are developed in consultation with health care experts, providers, measurement experts and patients. 

Founded in 1951, The Joint Commission seeks to continuously improve health care for the public, in collaboration with other stakeholders, by evaluating health care organizations and inspiring them to excel in providing safe and effective care of the highest quality and value. The Joint Commission evaluates and accredits more than 20,000 health care organizations and programs in the United States, including more than 10,600 hospitals and home care organizations, and more than 6,600 other health care organizations that provide long term care, behavioral health care, laboratory and ambulatory care services. The Joint Commission also certifies more than 2,400 disease-specific care programs such as stroke, heart failure, joint replacement and stroke rehabilitation, and 400 health care staffing services. An independent, not-for-profit organization, The Joint Commission is the nation's oldest and largest standards-setting and accrediting body in health care. Learn more about The Joint Commission at www.jointcommission.org.


Edit Module

Add your comment: