Edit ModuleShow Tags
Edit ModuleShow Tags

Governor’s Emergency Medical Services Awards announced


Governor’s Emergency Medical Services Awards announced

ANCHORAGE — The Governor's Annual Emergency Medical Services (EMS) Awards sponsored by the Alaska Council on EMS, were announced during the morning session at the state EMS Symposium on Friday, Nov. 8, 2013. Awards will be presented at the 38th Annual Governor’s Alaska EMS Awards Banquet at the Egan Convention Center on Saturday, Nov. 9, at 8 p.m. Award recipients this year are:

Consumer/Citizen Award: Rochelle Ferry, Nome — In recognition of her quick thinking and actions in performing cardio-pulmonary resuscitation (CPR) on an unresponsive and hypoxic infant.

EMS Provider Award: Tracy Davison, EMT, Elim — In recognition of her service to the community of Elim as lead EMT/Community Health Practitioner in treating and stabilizing patients and successfully managing a number of obstetric and pediatric emergencies during the last year.

EMS Educator Award: David LeMaster, EMT, Aniak --- In recognition of his many years of dedicated service in providing EMS education to the community of Aniak and surrounding villages.

EMS Administrator Award: Scott Learned, Mobile Intensive Care Paramedic (MICP), Fairbanks — In recognition of his years of service in the Interior EMS Region and his leadership in EMS data collection, ST-Elevation Myocardial Infarction (STEMI) program development and assistance in facilitating internship opportunities for paramedic students.

Melissa Ann Peters Memorial Award: Sara Penisten, RN, Anchorage — In recognition of her advocacy for pediatric injury education and prevention, especially in the areas of child safety seat and bicycle helmet use.

A special commendation was also endorsed by the Alaska Council on EMS to the following groups for their contributions to providing emergency medical care and search and rescue services to the citizens of Alaska: the Alaska State Troopers, Alaska Air National Guard and the United States Coast Guard.

For more information contact (907) 465-8633 or EMSAwards@alaska.gov.

Edit Module

Add your comment: