Edit ModuleShow Tags
Edit ModuleShow Tags

Senate Majority Completes Reorganization and Committee Leadership Positions


ANCHORAGE-The Alaska State Senate Majority is proud to announce that it has completed reorganization for the 28th Legislature scheduled to convene in Juneau on January 15th, 2013.  The Senate Majority will consist of 15 members who represent urban and rural areas across Alaska.  

The Senate Leadership will consist of Senator Charlie Huggins, R-Wasilla, as Senate President; Senator John Coghill, R-North Pole, as Majority Leader;   Senator Lesil McGuire, R-Anchorage, as Chair of the Rules Committee;  and Senator Kevin Meyer, R-Anchorage, and Senator-Elect Pete Kelly, R-Fairbanks as Co-Chairs of the Senate Finance Committee.

“We are looking forward to working within this new, strong organization we have created through a very deliberative process,” said Senate Majority Leader Coghill.  “We have built the committee structures in a way that maximizes that skills and interests of each of our members to better accomplish the goals and priorities of the new Alaska State Senate Majority.”

The following members have been announced as Committee Chairs for the 28th Alaska State Legislature:

Rules:  Senator Lesil McGuire, R-Anchorage

Resources: Senator Cathy Giessel, R-South Anchorage/Kenai Peninsula

Judiciary: Senator John Coghill, R-North Pole

Transportation:  Senator Dennis Egan, D-Juneau

Education: Senator Gary Stevens, R-Kodiak

Legislative Budget and Audit Committee: Senator-Elect Anna Fairclough, R-Anchorage/Eagle River

Legislative Council:  Senator-Elect Peter Micciche, R-Soldotna

Health and Social Services:  Senator Bert Stedman, R-Sitka

State Affairs: Senator Fred Dyson, R-Eagle River

Community and Regional Affairs Committee: Senator-Elect Peter Micciche, R-Soldotna

Labor and Commerce: Senator-Elect Mike Dunleavy, R-Mat-Su Valley

World Trade:  Senator Gary Stevens, R-Kodiak

Senate Co-Chair of Joint Armed Services Committee-Senator-Elect Pete Kelly, R-Fairbanks

Administrative Regulations Review Committee:  Senator Cathy Giessel, R-South Anchorage/Kenai Peninsula

In-State Energy Committee – Co-Chairs Senator-Elect Click Bishop, R-Fairbanks and Senator John Coghill, R-North Pole

TAPS Throughput Decline: Co-Chairs Senator-Elect Peter Micciche, R-Soldotna and Senator-Elect Mike Dunleavy, R-Mat-Su Valley

Senate Member of the Ethics Committee: Senator Cathy Giessel, R-South Anchorage/Kenai Peninsula

Senate Finance Committee Members:

Co-Chair-Senator Kevin Meyer, R-Anchorage

Co-Chair Senator Pete Kelly, R-Fairbanks

Vice-Chair-Senator-Elect Anna Fairclough, R-Anchorage/Eagle River

Senator Mike Dunleavy, R-Mat-Su Valley

Senator Click Bishop, R-Fairbanks

Senator Donny Olson, D-Nome/Golovin

Senate Committee on Committees:

Chair: Senator Charlie Huggins, R-Wasilla

Senator John Coghill, R-North Pole

Senator Kevin Meyer, R-Anchorage

Senator Lesil McGuire, R-Anchorage

Senator-Elect Pete Kelly, R-Fairbanks

The rest of the committee members will be decided upon by the Committee on Committees and will be announced in the near future.

For more information on the Senators and these committee selections, please contact Carolyn Kuckertz in the Senate Majority Press Office at (907) 269-6315 or at Carolyn_Kuckertz@legis.state.ak.us.

Edit Module

Add your comment: