Edit ModuleShow Tags
Edit ModuleShow Tags

Hertige Barn Program receives National Honor


Washington State Heritage Barn Program Receives Honor Award from the National Trust for Historic Preservation

SPOKANE, The Washington State Legislature, the State Department of Archaeology and Historic Preservation and the Washington Trust for Historic Preservation were honored in Spokane at the National Historic Preservation Conference by receiving an Honor Award for the Heritage Barn Program.  Receiving the award from the National Trust for Historic Preservation was Jerri Honeyford of Sunnyside, Chair of the Washington Heritage Barn Advisory Committee.  Also recognized in receiving the award was Senator Jim Honeyford ( R ) of Sunnyside representing the Washington State Legislature; Dr. Allyson Brooks, the State Historic Preservation Officer; and Jennifer Meisner, director of the Washington Trust for Historic Preservation. 

Recognizing the steady erosion of historic barns due to deterioration and development pressures, Senator Jim Honeyford and wife Jerri Honeyford have worked tirelessly to raise awareness of the importance of barns as historic resources on our rural landscape.  Working in conjunction with the Washington State Department of Archaeology and Historic Preservation and the Northwest preservation advocacy group the Washington Trust, Senator Honeyford advanced legislation that recognized barns as historic resources and provided seed money by the legislature for the preservation of historic era barns. 

In just three years, the Washington Heritage Barn Program has identified and surveyed hundreds of barns in Washington State.  The most significant barns were added to the Washington Heritage Barn Register.  So far, nearly 500 barns have been added to the register.  These barns are considered important features of our landscape and the state’s rich agricultural history. 

With matching grants provided by the Washington State Legislature, 46 barns have been restored.  The economic stimulus provided by the distribution of the grant funds has been readily seen in each of the rural communities where grants were awarded, creating jobs and motivating barn owners to repair and maintain their barns which are vital to farm operations. 

According to the National Trust for Historic Preservation, headquartered in Washington D. C., the National Preservation Honor Awards “are bestowed on distinguished individuals, non-profit organizations, public agencies and corporations whose skill and determination have given new meaning to their communities through preservation of our architectural and cultural heritage.” 

Also receiving a National Preservation Award from the National Trust was the McKinstry Corporation of Spokane for the creative adaptive re-use of the former Spokane Inland Empire Railroad trolley car building which is now referred to as “McKinstry Station” located near Gonzaga University.


Washington State Heritage Barn Preservation Initiative to Receive Preservation Honor Award

National Trust for Historic Preservation to present award at its national conference


Washington, D.C. (October 24, 2012) –The National Trust for Historic Preservation will present its Preservation Honor Award to the Washington State Heritage Barn Preservation Initiative.  The initiative is one of 22 award winners to be honored by the National Trust during its 2012 National Preservation Conference next week in Spokane.

Washington’s State Heritage Barn Preservation Initiative is a fantastic example of how a grassroots network can work in collaboration with a variety of officials and agencies to produce legislative success.

House Bill 2115 was approved by the Washington state legislature in 2007 with overwhelming support and established the creation of a state heritage Barn Register, with a matching grant program to provide assistance to historic barn owners rehabilitating their properties. In less than 5 years, 486 barns have been included in the register. Three grant rounds have awarded $1 million in state matching grants to owners of 46 historic barns – 40 of which are still in active agricultural use.

While upgrading and restoring their barns, farmers are utilizing local lumber yards, hardware stores and labor, bringing a boost to the state’s economy. Through this remarkable program, Washington State is sowing the seeds of preservation in all 39 of its counties, and this initiative is certain to keep on growing.

“While each is unique, this year’s outstanding Honor Award winners all reflect the importance of protecting what is special and irreplaceable,” said Stephanie Meeks, president of the National Trust for Historic Preservation.  “Whether it’s the restoration of an iconic post office in Philadelphia or the transformation of a Greyhound bus station into a Civil Rights museum in Montgomery, this year’s Honor Award winners demonstrate how saving places is bolstering local economies and creating jobs in communities across the country.” 

The award will be presented to Washington State’s Department of Archeology and Historic Preservation at the Richard H. Driehaus National Preservation Awards ceremony in Spokane, on Friday, November 2.

Co-recipients are: The Washington State Legislature; and the Washington Trust for Historic Preservation.

The National Preservation Awards are bestowed on distinguished individuals, nonprofit organizations, public agencies and corporations whose skill and determination have given new meaning to their communities through preservation of our architectural and cultural heritage. These efforts include citizen attempts to save and maintain important landmarks; companies and craftsmen whose work restores the richness of the past; the vision of public officials who support preservation projects and legislation in their communities; and educators and journalists who help Americans understand the value of preservation. The winners of the National Preservation Awards will appear online at www.PreservationNation.org/awards.


Louise du Pont Crowninshield Award: Donovan Rypkema, Washington, D.C.
National Trust/Advisory Council on Historic Preservation Award for Federal Partnerships in Historic Preservation: Montgomery Greyhound Bus Station--Freedom Rides Museum, Montgomery, Ala.
The American Express Aspire Award: Recognizing Emerging Leaders in Preservation: M. Rosalind Sagara, Riverside, Calif. 
Peter H. Brink Award for Individual Achievement in Historic Preservation: Enid Pinkney, Coral Gables, Fl.
National Trust/HUD Secretary’s Award for Excellence in Historic Preservation: Saint Luke’s Manor, Cleveland.
Trustees’ Award for Organizational Excellence: The Preservation Alliance of Minnesota, Saint Paul, Minn.
John H. Chafee Trustees’ Award for Outstanding Achievement in Public Policy: John Andrew Gallery, Philadelphia.
Trustees Emeritus Award for Excellence in the Stewardship of Historic Sites: The Jane Addams Hull House, Chicago.


30th Street Main Post Office, Philadelphia.
ASM International Headquarters, Materials Park, Ohio.
Charles H. Shaw Technology and Learning Center, Chicago.
Leavenworth Building 19, Leavenworth, Kan.
Gullah Museum of Hilton Head Island’s Preservation of Duey’s Home, Hilton Head Island, S.C.
The Historic Park Inn Hotel, Mason City, Iowa.
Main Building at Our Lady of the Lake University, San Antonio.
Market Square Place, Pittsburgh.
New Orleans U.S. Custom House, New Orleans.
Oswego Iron Furnace, Lake Oswego, Ore.
Accident Fund National Headquarters/Ottawa Street Power Station, Lansing, Mich.
SIERR Building at McKinstry Station, Spokane, Wash.
Todd Bolender Center for Dance and Creativity, Kansas City, Mo.
Washington State Heritage Barn Preservation Initiative, Wash.  

Edit Module

Add your comment: