Edit ModuleShow Tags
Edit ModuleShow Tags

Governor’s Emergency Medical Services Awards announced


Awards to be presented at Saturday banquet


(ANCHORAGE) — The Governor's Annual Emergency Medical Services (EMS) Awards, sponsored by the Alaska Council on EMS, were announced at the state EMS Symposium on Friday, Nov. 9. Awards will be presented at the 37th Annual Governor’s Alaska EMS Awards Banquet at the Egan Convention Center on Nov. 10 at 8 p.m. Award recipients are:


Consumer/Citizen Award: Robert DeBerry, Wasilla — In recognition of his quick thinking in responding to and applying a tourniquet to a badly-injured truck driver, saving the man’s life.


EMS Provider Award: Virginia McMichael, ChugiakIn recognition of her 20 years of EMS service to Chugiak, and her contributions to EMS in Alaska as a responder, trainer, and counselor.


EMS Educator Award: Terry Stone, ChiniakIn recognition of her 20 years of service to her community as the Kodiak Area Native Association EMS Coordinator, and as an instructor with Chiniak EMS.


EMS Administrator Award: Victoria Erickson, NomeIn recognition of her 18 years of service as a model for the spirit of volunteerism and improvement in the standard of care in her community.


Melissa Ann Peters Memorial Award: Matthew DelRosso, RN, Eagle River — In posthumous recognition of his dedicated service and outstanding skills as a flight nurse and as a pre-hospital EMS educator.


George H. Longenbaugh Memorial Award: Ken Zafren, MD, Anchorage In recognition of his unwavering support for the Alaska EMS system and Physician Medical Directors.


Outstanding Ambulance Service Award: Whittier Fire & EMS, David Schofield, ChiefIn recognition of gains in the past three years, and responses to emergencies involving 300,000 seasonal visitors, as well as airplane, motor vehicle, boat, and structural fire emergencies, and mountain rescue.


Friend of EMS Award: Dave Potashnick, Barrow In recognition of his 20 years of service to the North Slope EMS Region, and to EMS in Alaska statewide. Through his leadership, integrity, guidance and humor, he has made lasting contributions to the development and improvement of the Alaska EMS system.


Special Commendations: Bea Adler, Wasilla — In recognition of her success in helping to develop the Community Emergency Response Team program in her community. Wilma Vinton, Fairbanks; Jane Schultz, Kenai; and Anjela Johnston, Juneau — In recognition of their contributions to the state’s EMS Data Collection Program through their foresight, creativity, professionalism collaboration and advocacy.

Edit Module

Add your comment: