Edit ModuleShow Tags
Edit ModuleShow Tags

Senate Bipartisan Working Group Announces Leadership Positions


Anchorage, AK - The Senate Bipartisan Working Group today announced the following leadership roster for the 27th Alaska Legislature, scheduled to convene in the Capitol on Tuesday, January 18, 2011.

· President                     Senator Gary Stevens, R-Kodiak

· Majority Leader          Senator Kevin Meyer, R-Anchorage

· Rules Chairman          Senator Johnny Ellis, D-Anchorage

· Finance Co-Chair        Senator Lyman Hoffman, D-Bethel

· Finance Co-Chair        Senator Bert Stedman, R-Sitka

Senator Stevens released the following statement:

“It is a pleasure to announce the Senate leadership structure for the upcoming Legislature, and to note that we expect a seamless transition from the current organization to the new one. We believe that our effectiveness as a bipartisan organization, working on behalf of all Alaskans toward goals that are in the best interest of our state, was proven over the past two years. I look forward to a continued productive relationship among all members of the Senate, and am honored that members have placed their trust in me to serve as President once again.”

Stevens said that the remainder of the bipartisan organization will be announced after it has been finalized.

Edit Module

Add your comment: