Edit ModuleShow Tags
Edit ModuleShow Tags

Governor's Emergency Medical Service Awards Announced



Contact: Greg Wilkinson, (907) 269-7285, Cell (907) 382-7032, gregory.wilkinson@alaska.gov

(Anchorage, Alaska) - The Governor's Annual Awards for Emergency Medical Services, sponsored by the Alaska Council on Emergency Medical Services, were announced at the State Emergency Medical Services Symposium on Friday, Nov.12. Awards will be presented at the 33rd Annual Governor's Alaska EMS Awards Banquet at the Egan Convention Center on Nov. 13 at 8 p.m. Award recipients are:

Consumer/Citizen Award: Morgan Lockwood, Saint Michael - In recognition of her quick thinking and bravery in rescuing four children from a burning mobile home.

EMS Provider Award: Mike Moore, Seward - In recognition of his more than 25 years of dedication to the Seward Volunteer Ambulance Corps, and his contributions to the surrounding communities.

EMS Educator Award: Patricia Vincent, Anchorage - In recognition of her contributions to providing quality EMS education for both career and volunteer EMS providers for more than a decade

EMS Administrator Award: Dr. Ray Andreassen, Delta Junction - In recognition of his outstanding leadership and guidance for over 20 years in working with Delta Junction EMS to ensure that quality patient care is available to the people of Delta and the surrounding area.

Melissa Ann Peters Memorial Award: Shayne Pond, R.N., C.E.N., Soldotna - In recognition of his dedication and contributions to Central Peninsula Hospital, his community, and his patients, and for promoting positive change and providing the highest standard of patient care.

George H. Longenbaugh Memorial Award: Dr. Regina Chennault, Anchorage - In recognition of her leadership, passion and advocacy in improving trauma care for all Alaskans.

Outstanding Ambulance Service Award: Alaska Professional Volunteers, Anchorage - In providing more than 14,000 volunteer hours over the last year, and for providing EMS coverage at events in Anchorage and communities in Southcentral Alaska.

Special Commendation: Sen. John Coghill, North Pole - In recognition of his endorsement of and dedication to supporting the Alaska trauma system for the citizens of Alaska.

Friend of EMS Award: Steven O'Connor, Kenai/Soldotna - Given posthumously in recognition of his immeasurable contributions to the development of the Alaska EMS System, as well as the generous gifts of his warm heart, big laugh, and ringing sincerity.

Edit Module

Add your comment: