Edit ModuleShow Tags
Edit ModuleShow Tags

Gary Stevens to Lead 16-Member Senate Bipartisan Working Group


Anchorage, AK – Senator Gary Stevens, R-Kodiak, who will serve as president of a 16-member Bipartisan Working Group for the next two years, today announced that the majority has agreed to the following organizational structure for the 27th Alaska Legislature, scheduled to convene in the Capitol on Tuesday, January 18, 2011.

· President                                             Sen. Gary Stevens, R-Kodiak

· Majority Leader                                  Sen. Kevin Meyer, R-Anchorage

· Rules Chair                                          Sen. Johnny Ellis, D-Anchorage

· Finance Co-Chair                                Sen. Lyman Hoffman, D-Bethel

· Finance Co-Chair                                Sen. Bert Stedman, R-Sitka

· Resources Co-Chair                            Sen. Joe Paskvan, D-Fairbanks

· Resources Co-Chair                            Sen. Tom Wagoner, R-Kenai

· Judiciary Chair                                    Sen. Hollis French, D-Anchorage

· Legislative Council Chair                    Sen. Linda Menard, R-Wasilla

· Community & Regional Affairs Chair Sen. Donny Olson, D-Nome

· Education Co-chair                             Sen. Kevin Meyer

· Education Co-chair                             Sen. Joe Thomas, D-Fairbanks

· Health & Social Services Chair           Sen. Bette Davis, D-Anchorage

· Labor & Commerce Chair                  Sen. Dennis Egan, D-Juneau

· State Affairs Chair                              Sen. Bill Wielechowski, D-Anchorage

· Transportation Chair                          Sen. Albert Kookesh, D-Angoon

· World Trade Chair                              Sen. Gary Stevens

· Joint Armed Services Chair                 Sen. Bill Wielechowski

· Admin. Reg. Review Chair                  Sen. Hollis French

In addition to Sen. Stedman and Sen. Hoffman as co-chairs, the Senate Bipartisan Working Group has agreed to appoint the following members of the Senate Finance Committee:

· Sen. Donny Olson

· Sen. Dennis Egan

· Sen. Joe Thomas

· Sen. Johnny Ellis

· Sen. Lesil McGuire, R-Anchorage

Membership of other standing and special committees will be announced after those rosters are finalized.

Edit Module

Add your comment: