Edit ModuleShow Tags
Edit ModuleShow Tags

Rasmuson Foundation Individual Artist Awards to be Announced May 13, 2014


Anchorage, AK – Rasmuson Foundation will announce the 2014 Individual Artist Awards on May 13, 2014. Thirty-six awards will be given to artists from 13 communities across Alaska. The recipients include literary artists, painters, sculptors, photographers, poets, carvers, composers, choreographers, novelists, filmmakers, screenwriters and more. Honorees were chosen from 274 applications received. The event will include a special performance from artists who previously received grants through the program.

WHO: Rasmuson Foundation

WHAT:  Announcement of 2014 Individual Artist Awards

WHEN: Tuesday, May 13, 2014

Doors open: 10 a.m.
Event: 10:30 a.m.

WHERE: Alaska Center for the Performing Arts

Sydney Laurence Theatre
621 W. 6th Avenue

Rasmuson Foundation launched the Individual Artist Awards in 2003 to honor the merit and significance of lives dedicated to serious artistic exploration. So far, the program has awarded 338 grants totaling more than $2.7 million to Alaska artists.

Awards announced on Tuesday, May 13, will include Project Awards ($7,500), Artist Fellowship Awards ($18,000) and one Distinguished Artist award ($40,000). All of this year’s winning artists, including the Distinguished Artist recipient, will be present at the announcement celebration.

The Rasmuson Foundation Individual Artist Awards are part of a multi-year initiative to support the culture of art, the vibrancy of our communities, and art itself.

About the Foundation

Rasmuson Foundation was created in May 1955 by Jenny Rasmuson to honor her late husband, “E.A.” Rasmuson. The Foundation is a catalyst to promote a better life for all Alaskans.

Edit Module

Add your comment: