Edit ModuleShow Tags
Edit ModuleShow Tags

The Anchorage Symphony Orchestra Announces 2013/2014 Season


Anchorage, Alaska – May 21, 2013 – The Anchorage Symphony Orchestra is proud to celebrate 68 seasons and 25 years as the Resident Orchestra of the Alaska Center for the Performing Arts by announcing its 2013/14 season schedule. The Anchorage Symphony season is comprised of the Classic Concert Series (five classic concerts) and the Pops Concert Series (3 special events).

Each season ASO Music Director, Randall Craig Fleischer, programs a bombastic and dramatic opening night - and the ASO Opening Night September 28th - will be no exception. Hector Berlioz' masterwork - Symphonie Fantastique - is brilliant, colorful and passionate. Described as an "aural vision quest for art and love", Symphonie Fantastique is considered a monument in the symphonic repertoire. To commemorate the Alaska Center for the Performing Arts' 25th Anniversary, Maestro Fleischer has programmed the Brahms' Piano Concerto No. 2 - a work performed at the ASO's first performance in the ACPA. Joining the ASO for this concerto is Ilya Yakushev, an award winning Russian pianist who astounds and mesmerizes audiences across the globe.

November’s Classic Concert, Landscapes, focuses on cherished artists and a reverence for nature featuring the Anchorage premiere of Ansel Adams: America, composed by the legendary jazz artists Chris and Dave Brubeck. This symphonic tribute salutes one of America's most cherished artists. The Grammy-nominated piece fully integrates sweeping melodies with over 100 striking images of or by Ansel Adams projected on a screen above the orchestra. Few people realize that Ansel Adams trained to be a classical musician, a fact that greatly influenced the work. Landscapes opens with Beethoven’s Symphony No. 6 an iconic musical expression of his deep appreciation for nature. This concert features ASO Principal Violist Anne Gantz Burns in a charming Suite for Viola and Orchestra by Vaughan Williams.

The ASO ushers in the New Year with Bartók's audience and musician favorite - Concerto for Orchestra. Hailed as a “spectacular showpiece,” Concerto for Orchestra is a procession of splendid tunes, vibrant rhythms, spine-tingling harmonies and a rare palette of orchestral color. Rounding out the concert is Antonio Vivaldi's iconic work, Four Seasons. With movements depicting spring, summer, autumn and winter, Four Seasons is among the most recognizable music in the symphonic repertoire. Joining the ASO for this beloved work is celebrated violinist, Rachel Barton Pine.

Considered a child prodigy of the violin, Ms. Pine performed with the Chicago Symphony at the age of 10. She is lauded for her musical prowess in a variety of musical styles from baroque to heavy metal. Her ability to see the connecting threads in these very disparate musical forms makes Ms. Pine the perfect bridge between generations of music fans. Viewing herself as an artistic ambassador, she introduces the pleasures of classical music to legions of new listeners.

The ASO’s March Classic Concert, brings many firsts to the concert hall. Embrace: Concerto for Electric Violin by Kenji Bunch will have its West Coast premiere and will be the first time the ASO has featured electric violin in a Classic Concert. Co-commissioned by Musica Nova, the ASO commissioning club, and nine other orchestras, Embrace showcases electric violinist Tracy Silverman considered to be the “the greatest living exponent of the electric violin.”

Formerly first violinist with the innovative Turtle Island String Quartet, Silverman was named by The Juilliard School as one of its 100 distinguished alumni. Embrace is an exciting new piece described by its composer as “an interactive performance work conceived and written in the spirit of what I consider the most powerful new medium of orchestra performing of the 21st century: the orchestra ‘flash mob’.” Also on the Electric Nights program are Ravel’s tribute piece, Le Tombeau de Couperin and the ASO’s premiere performance of Schumann’s heroic and large-scaled work - Symphony No. 4.

To wrap up the season Maestro Fleischer has programmed the Season Finale as his tribute to Wagner. “The first half of the concert will be Wagner orchestral showpieces and on the second half – I’m calling it, ‘Tristan’s greatest hits!’ My favorite Wagner opera is Tristan und Isolde. Somehow the romantic passion Wagner achieves in this opera brings his skills as a composer to their absolute pinnacle.”

Over the past few seasons the ASO has offered Pops Concerts as special add-ons for subscribers and single ticket buyers. This year subscribers can purchase all three events as part of a Pops Subscription. For as little as $24 per concert subscribers can experience: Eileen Ivers, “the Jimi Hendrix of the violin”; Steve Lippia, one of today’s most prominent, in-demand vocalists, in Simply Sinatra; and celebrate the 100th anniversary of Charlie Chaplin’s Little Tramp character in the silent film, Modern Times.

Season tickets to the Anchorage Symphony season are on sale now. Renewing Subscribers have until May 31st to renew their seats. Season tickets holders receive guaranteed seating, save the 9% Center Tix fee, have first chance to purchase Special Event single tickets and much more.

Season tickets to the Anchorage Symphony’s Classic Concert Series (including all 5 Classic Concerts) are priced between $95 and $185. Season tickets to the Pops Concert Series (including all 3 Special Events) are priced between $70 and $124. For season tickets call the ASO office at 274-8668.

Classic Concert Series:

-          Opening Night: Fantastique! – September 28, 2013

-          Landscapes – November 16, 2013

-          For all Seasons – February 1, 2014

-          Electric Nights – March 29, 2014

-          Season Finale – April 26, 2014

Pops Concert Series:

-          Eileen Ivers – October 26, 2013

-          Silent Film: Modern Times – January 11, 2014

-          Steve Lippia in “Simply Sinatra” – February 14, 2014

Edit Module

Add your comment: