Edit ModuleShow Tags
Edit ModuleShow Tags

Governor Parnell Announces Board Appointments


May 7, 2013, Juneau, Alaska - Governor Sean Parnell today announced appointments to the Board of Barbers and Hairdressers, Board of Certified Real Estate Appraisers, Council on Domestic Violence and Sexual Assault, State Council on Interstate Adult and Juvenile Supervision, Local Boundary Commission, Natural Resources Conservation and Development Board, and the Board of Veterinary Examiners.

Board of Barbers and Hairdressers

Governor Parnell appointed Jeannine Jabaay to the Board of Barbers and Hairdressers. The board regulates and controls applications, licenses and permits of barbers, hairdressers, cosmetologists, tattooists, body piercers, and permanent cosmetic colorists.

Jabaay, of Anchorage, is the owner and president of Alaska Treeline, Inc., and is a founder and current board member of Beacon Hill, a transitional living center for homeless mothers and their children. She has been actively involved in community organizations, such as serving as a board member for Beyond Borders, a Mom’s Club leader, a mother of six, and a licensed foster parent. Jabaay was Mrs. Alaska United States in 2007. She holds her associate degree in biblical studies from Christ for the Nations Institute. Jabaay is appointed to a public seat.

Board of Certified Real Estate Appraisers

Governor Parnell appointed Sarah Heath to the Board of Certified Real Estate Appraisers. The board establishes the examination specifications for certification as a general and residential real estate appraiser, and adopts rules of professional conduct and regulations for the industry.

Heath, of Palmer, is a mediator for the Alaska Court System Child in Need of Aid Mediator Program and a court appointed special advocate. She previously worked as an interim legislative aide for Representative Shelley Hughes and as a real estate agent. Heath is the former president and creator of the first Alaska chapter of Operation Home Front and former president of the 411th Family Readiness Group. She holds a juris doctorate from Texas Wesleyan University School of Law. Heath is appointed to a public seat.

Council on Domestic Violence and Sexual Assault

Governor Parnell appointed Donna Erickson to the Council on Domestic Violence and Sexual Assault. The council provides planning and coordination of services to victims of domestic violence or sexual assault and their families, as well as to perpetrators, and provides crisis intervention and prevention programs.

Erickson, of Unalakleet, is a village agent for Bering Air, Inc. She has served on the Bering Sea Women’s Group Board of Directors for two terms and was a safe home provider for 25 years. PBS documented Donna’s personal life story of abuse and healing in a special documentary that aired nationally, entitled, “The Burden of Silence.” Erickson is a board member for Unalakleet Evangelical Covenant Church, former group leader for Family Wellness Warriors, past member of InterAct Ministries of Alaska Policy Council, past parent member for RuralCAP Headstart Program Child Development Policy, and former member of the Advisory Education Committee for the Bering Straits School District. Erickson is appointed as a representative from a rural community of 7,500 or fewer residents, not connected by road or rail to Anchorage or Fairbanks.

State Council on Interstate Adult and Juvenile Supervision

Governor Parnell reappointed Susan Sullivan to the State Council for Interstate Adult and Juvenile Offender Supervision. The council oversees, supervises, and coordinates the interstate movement of offenders and enforces compliance with the interstate commission rules and bylaws.

Sullivan, of Anchorage, is the executive director of Victims for Justice. A former member of the Alaska House of Representatives, Sullivan is also the former vice-chair and executive director of the Governor’s Committee on Employment of the Handicapped. Sullivan holds a master’s degree in public administration from Harvard University. She is reappointed as a victim’s group representative on the council.

Local Boundary Commission

Governor Parnell reappointed Lynn Chrystal to the Local Boundary Commission. The five-member commission acts on issues of boundaries, incorporation, and annexation of municipal governments.

Chrystal has lived in Valdez since 1975 and is a former mayor of the City of Valdez, and former member of the Valdez City Council. He retired from the federal government after four years in the Air Force and 36 years with the National Weather Service. Chrystal formerly served as a board member of the Resource Development Council, Copper Valley Electric Association, Pioneers of Alaska, National Rifle Association – Alaska Chapter, and the Mayors Hospital Task Force. Chrystal is the current chairman and is reappointed to an at-large seat.

Natural Resources Conservation and Development Board

Governor Parnell appointed Ina Jones and reappointed Cheryl Thompson to the Natural Resources Conservation and Development Board. The five-member board, composed of land users, receives and reviews reports regarding the use of soil resources and holds public hearings and meetings to determine if land is being used in a manner consistent with sound soil and water conservation practices. Additionally, the board recommends action to provide for the effective and orderly development of agricultural, forest, and grazing land.

Jones, of Fritz Creek, has owned and operated a family farm and ranch for the past 40 years, raising beef cattle, horses, hay, and peonies. She and her husband previously owned a local gravel company and guide business. Jones is a commercial member of the Alaska Peony Growers Association and serves on the board of directors for the Pratt Museum. She is a former member of the Fox River Cattleman’s Association and past president of Alaska High School Rodeo Association. Jones is appointed to a seat reserved for a resident of Southwest Alaska or the Kenai Peninsula.

Thompson, of Nome, has owned a gardening business in Nome for 20 years. She taught sub-Arctic horticulture and gardening as an adjunct instructor at the University of Alaska Fairbanks northwest campus and at the university’s Cooperative Extension Service in Nome. Thompson has organized, led, and hosted the Nome Garden Tour since 2003. She is reappointed to a seat reserved for a resident of Northwest Alaska or the Arctic.

Board of Veterinary Examiners

Governor Parnell appointed Dr. James Hagee to the Board of Veterinary Examiners. The board regulates and controls applications, licenses, and permits of veterinarians and veterinary technicians.

Hagee, of Chugiak, has worked more than 30 years as a self-employed veterinarian, both in rural and urban Alaska. He also has previous experience working in non-profit veterinary care. Hagee is a current member of Alaska Dog & Puppy Rescue and the Animal Control Appeals Board for the Municipality of Anchorage. He is a prior member of the American Veterinary Medical Association and the American Animal Hospital Association. Hagee formerly served on the board of directors for the Chugiak-Eagle River Chamber of Commerce. He holds a doctorate of veterinary medicine from the University of Missouri. Hagee is appointed to a veterinarian seat.

Edit Module

Add your comment: