|  September 30, 2014  |  
    |  Forecast »
Bookmark and Share Email this page Email Print this page Print Feed Feed

Families USA Report Spotlights New Consumer Tool, ‘Summary of Benefits and Coverage’

Plain-Language Outline of Every Available Health Policy Will Help Families Understand Coverage, Comparison Shop
 

Teleconference on May 24 Will Focus on the Families USA Report
 

 Washington, D.C.—The Affordable Care Act requires that insurance companies provide an outline of health insurance policy benefits in clear, plain language. Called a “Summary of Benefits and Coverage,” this document will soon be provided for every insurance policy on the market.

On Thursday, May 24, Families USA will release a report analyzing the gains to consumers in all 50 states, examining the features of a Summary of Benefits and Coverage, which includes examples of plan coverage for common conditions like diabetes.

Among the elements of the Families USA report:
* The number of Americans insured under a private plan who will be helped by a Summary of Benefits, including the number receiving coverage through an employer, receiving coverage as a dependent, and receiving coverage through a policy purchased on the individual market.
* The number of Americans who are employed by companies, large and small, that offer a choice of plans.
* A discussion of the importance of the Summary of Benefits to families in shopping for coverage and confirming what is covered in a policy.
* An enumeration of other key plan information, such as consumers’ rights to appeal coverage decisions.

WHAT:  Teleconference and Release of Families USA Report, “Decoding Your Coverage:  The New Summary of Benefits and Coverage.”

WHEN: 1 p.m. EDT, Noon CDT, 11 a.m. MDT, 10 a.m. PDT
           Thursday, May 24, 2011

HOW: Dial in toll-free: 888-287-5563
         Confirmation code: 5024736
 

WHO: Rep. Rosa DeLauro, (D-CT), Ranking Member, Appropriations
             Subcommittee on Labor, Health, Human Services, and Education
         Dr. LaShawn McIver, MD, MPH, Managing Director of Public Policy and
             Strategic Alliances, American Diabetes Association
         Lynn Quincy, Senior Policy Analyst, Consumers Union
         Ron Pollack, Executive Director, Families USA

Families USA is the national organization for health care consumers. It is nonprofit and nonpartisan, and its mission is to secure high-quality, affordable health coverage and care for all Americans.

1201 New York Avenue, NW, Suite 1100 * Washington, DC  20005 * 202-628-3030 * Fax: 202-347-2417 * E-mail: info@familiesusa.org * Web site: www.familiesusa.org

Add your comment:
Advertisement
Advertisement
Advertisement
Advertisement
Advertisement