Edit ModuleShow Tags
Edit ModuleShow Tags

News Release From the Prince William Sound RCAC


For Immediate Release

May 19, 2010

Citizens' council board chooses new officers

The Prince William Sound Regional Citizens' Advisory Council board elected its seven-member executive committee May 6 and 7 during a meeting in Valdez.

Walter Parker, who represents the Oil Spill Region Environmental Coalition on the council board, was elected president. He succeeds Steve Lewis of Seldovia in the post.

Besides Parker, the executive committee, which will serve until the board’s May 2011 meeting, is as follows:

Dorothy Moore of Valdez is the new vice president; Sheri Buretta of Chugach Alaska Corp. is treasurer; and Thane Miller of the Prince William Sound Aquaculture Corp. is secretary. The members at large are Blake Johnson of the Kenai Peninsula Borough, Pat Duffy of the Alaska State Chamber of Commerce, and Cathy Hart of the Alaska Wilderness Recreation and Tourism Association.

The council also seated two new board members at the Valdez meeting. Rochelle van den Broek will represent the city of Cordova and Paul Selanoff will represent the community of Chenega Bay.

The Prince William Sound Regional Citizens' Advisory Council, with offices in Anchorage and Valdez, is an independent non-profit corporation whose mission is to promote environmentally safe operation of the Valdez Marine Terminal and the oil tankers that use it. The council's work is guided by the Oil Pollution Act of 1990, and its contract with Alyeska Pipeline Service Company. The council's 19 member organizations are communities in the region affected by the 1989 Exxon Valdez oil spill, as well as aquaculture, commercial fishing, environmental, Native, recreation, and tourism groups. For more information, visit www.pwsrcac.org on the Internet. For digital photographs of any of the people mentioned above, contact Stan Jones by replying to this message.◊
Edit Module

Add your comment: