Edit ModuleShow Tags
Edit ModuleShow Tags

Mat-Su Health Foundation Board Awards $100,000 in Scholarships


Wasilla, AK-In 2010, the Mat-Su Health Foundation (MSHF) awarded 56
scholarships totaling $100,000 to residents of the Mat-Su Borough
pursuing a health related career. Funds were awarded based upon the
merit of the applicants meeting the MSHF eligibility criteria, which
included clarity of health care career goals and the value of those
goals to the health care community; demonstrated interest in the
healthcare field through job experience, volunteer efforts, internships
or related course offerings; and past academic performance. Two
scholarships were given in honor of two revered and respected former
employees of Valley Hospital: Vivian Shaver and Annie Demming. For
graduating high school seniors, MSHF Scholarship Committee members will
officially present the scholarship funds and certificates at the
respective high school senior award ceremony.

The MSHF Board and Scholarship Committee awarded one $5,500 scholarship
in honor of Annie Demming to Ryan Van Ausdal. The $5000 scholarship in
honor of Vivian Shaver was given to Marisa Scott. Scholarships in the
amount of $5,200 were given to Laura Ellis, Alyssa Koehrer, Kirsten
Laulainen, and Katie McKee. $5000 scholarships were awarded to the
following individuals: Desire' Shepler, Michael Craig , Melia Renfer,
and Tina Wheeler Ten individuals received $2500 scholarships:
Brandi Ann Day, Noranna Dixon, Shannon Heimerl, Ashley Kangas, Sharon
Koss, Jacqueline Layton, Kymberly Miller, Aubrey Spangler, Robert Van
Vliet, III, and Patricia Westbrook.

Twenty-Two students received $1,000 scholarships: Mat-Su Health
Foundation Scholarships were awarded to: Kailyn Beech, Katherine Burr,
Bryan Dahms, Faith Golden, Rachel Kennedy, Mariah Kincaid, Madeline
Merriam, Cody Sherman, James Sliwa, Dylan Spargo, Sydney Stewart, Hannah
Babayed, Jennifer Cottingham and Justin Cottman

$500 Mat-Su Health Foundation Scholarships were awarded to: Nathan Cox,
Rae Cunningham,

Kiersten Dahms, Anna Enzweiler, Jennifer Faulkner, Jessica Gross,
McKenna Hanson, Brittany Heck, Kailey Johnson, Jennifer Kierstad, Dakota
Kleewein, Meghan Marre, David Martin, Joy Mielke, Michelle Oathout,
Sydnee Riggs, Jennifer Ringus, Kathryn Rose, Kaitlyn Stein, Sarah
Thompson, McKenzie Trimmer and Kayla Wagner.

MSHF believes that an investment in the education of Mat-Su residents
will help to build the healthcare workforce of the future and an engaged
citizenship with a higher capacity to address the health-related
challenges impacting Mat-Su and Alaska. MSHF scholarships are intended
to help defray the cost of higher education and encourage Mat-Su
residents to complete a degree or certificate program that emphasizes
health and/or wellness.

The Mat-Su Health Foundation is the official business name of Valley
Hospital Association, Inc., which shares ownership in Mat-Su Regional
Medical Center. In this capacity, the MSHF board members and
representatives actively participate in the governance of Mat-Su's
community hospital and protect the community's interest in this
important healthcare asset through board oversight. The MSHF invests
its share of Mat-Su Regional's profits into charitable works that
improve the health and wellness of Alaskans living in Mat-Su.

Edit Module

Add your comment: