Edit ModuleShow Tags
Edit ModuleShow Tags

Alaska Trucking Association Elects Officers


Anchorage, AK. - Lisa Marquiss of Carlile Transportation Systems, Inc. of Anchorage has
been elected president of the Alaska Trucking Association at the Association's annual meeting here
in late April.  She becomes only the second female president in the group's history. The first female
president was Leslie Bartholemew of Ketchikan in 1982.

Marquiss will serve until next April along with Art Reed, Sourdough Express, Inc., Anchorage,
First Vice President; Scooner Rice, NC Machinery Co., Anchorage, Second Vice President; and George
Lowery, Totem Ocean Trailer Express, Anchorage, Secretary/Treasurer.

There were two newly named Board members, George Lowery, who was appointed secretary/
treasurer and Scott Hicks, Alaska West Express.

The highlight of the meeting was the awarding of the Alaska Safe Truck Fleet of the Year to
Weaver Brothers Inc.,  and the Alaska Safe Truck Fleet Most Improved to Alaska West Express by
co- sponsors ConocoPhillips and the Alaska Trucking Association. Wendy King and Steve deAlbuquerque
of ConocoPhillips made the presentations.  David Dittman, president of Dittman Research, Anchorage
was the awards banquet keynote speaker. He gave an overview of the election year ahead.

The Alaska Trucking Association is a 200-member statewide association for com;panies in the
transportation and trucking industry. More than 20,000 people in Alaska are employed in the industry
with a payroll exceeding $1 billion.

Edit Module

Add your comment: